Review of Downward Dog, Upward Fog + Giveaway

*We’re giving away the debut novel of award-wining writer, Meryl Davids Landau, whose work has appeared in Glamour, O The Oprah Magazine, and Reader’s Digest.

*Read on for the review and your chance to win a copy of her novel, Downward Dog, Upward Fog.

–Giveaway ends March 18th– 

When someone cuts in front of you while you’re driving, do you feel a touch of anger bubbling up beneath the surface?

Do you feel like something is missing from your life? I’m not just talking about marriage, children, or a career. It’s more of a general state of unease. An inability to be more optimistic, a wish to feel more content, or simply a desire to be less irritated.

Then you and Lorna have a lot in common. Lorna Crawford is the star in a truly unique novel by Meryl Davids Landau.

Lorna almost has it all. She has a longtime boyfriend, fabulous friends, and a well-paying job. But if you dig a little deeper, you begin to learn that Lorna feels a void in her heart. She’s not as happy as she feels she should be. In search of something more, she dives into a silent yoga retreat.

Lorna comes home enlightened but that’s when the real struggle begins. She must face the looming uncertainty of her relationship’s true future, judgmental girlfriends, and of course, her critical mother. Can she face the problems in her life and stay on the spiritual path she’s seeking? How can meditation help?

Downward Dog, Upward Fog is made for women who are searching for a deeper meaning to life. If you’re a fan of Sophie Kinsella or Eat, Pray, Love, you’re in luck. This novel is the combination of the two. It’s also perfect if you’re looking for a fresh piece of fiction that doesn’t fall into tiresome-old themes.

While reading this book, I felt like I was able to travel down Lorna’s spiritual path with her. You can tell that the author isn’t just a yoga fan. She’s a huge yoga fan. This wasn’t too surprising once I discovered that she studied yoga, meditation, and Hindu Philosophy at the Integral Yoga Institute in New York and Buckingham, Virginia. The level of detail in this book as a result of Meryl’s own personal journey into the practice was educational and inspiring to say the least.

If you’re on your own personal path to dig deeper in your own sense of well-being, this novel is for you. If you’re looking to be enticed to do so, this will make you crave mediation!

*To Enter for a chance to Win a Copy of Downward Dog, Upward Fog:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (March 18th). Those who comment will be entered to win. This giveaway is U.S. only–sorry! When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winner on March 19th! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*Do you have any plans for Saint Patrick’s Day?

For Example: Typically, I actually don’t celebrate it. This year though, I’m going to use temporary hair-streakers to get green highlights. Then my husband and I will be tracking down green drinks….and I’ll also tell anyone who asks, “I’m Irish.” ;-) 

Tagged ,

16 thoughts on “Review of Downward Dog, Upward Fog + Giveaway

  1. Chingyi Liu says:

    I’m already a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

  2. Chingyi Liu says:

    I had Subscribed to this blog :)

  3. Chingyi says:

    I don’t celebrate St. Patrick’s Day unfortunately. But I would purposely head done to an irish pub to experience the atmosphere during the night!

  4. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I tweeted: http://t.co/3ijKhJl9

  5. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I posted this giveaway on my Facebook page,

  6. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I am a member on Facebook.

  7. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I follow you on Twitter.

  8. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I am an e-mail subsciber.

  9. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    About the only way that I celebrate is by wearing green on the day.

  10. Krista says:

    I’m a subsriber, I follow u on fb and on twitter!

  11. Krista says:

    I retweeted the contest!

  12. Krista says:

    I shared this on fb!

  13. Krista says:

    Omg this sounds like a great book to read! I plan on shopping for St. Patricks day!

  14. Connie Williamson says:

    When I lived in Savannah, GA, they did it up big for St. Patrick’s Day. Same in Memphis, TN. The best place was Atlanta, GA. Not too much going on for St. Patrick’s Day in Durham (or Raleigh), NC. But I’ll have me some corned beef and cabbage at a local Irish restaurant. :-)

  15. Shana says:

    I subscribe to your blog via email!

  16. Shana says:

    Living in NYC, I find that St. Patrick’s Day can be one of the rowdier holidays around here. Lots of college kids doing pub crawls with all-you-can-drink green beer. Although I’m half-Irish, I’m not really a fan of this kind of celebration. That said, I may indulge in a little soda bread, and possibly some corned beef…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

