Why Do Writer’s Write?

While sitting at my coffee house office, I began to wonder why in the world people ask writers why they write? The typical response is “Because I want to, because I can or because I’m good at it.” But for me–it’s just silly. I write because it is in me and it has to come out. When I start writing a story, I feel it in my bones like an itch. I write and write until I feel relief. When night time comes, I grow restless if I have not finished the story. I need to. I need to get back to the world I’ve created. I don’t think you understand Mr. Sandman, my story is happening right now.

There is a natural negative stigma associated with writers, especially before they get published. “You can do anything when you grow up….you want to be an engineer? Great! A Doctor? Fantastic. An Architect? We need you. A Writer? Hmm……Phil—what do we do with this weirdo?”

This attitude is highly prevalent of people who have absolutely no clue about writing and publishing. The idea seems as distant and far off to reach as the galaxy. “It’s not possible to make it,” they’ll tell you or say in a solemn voice, “Good Luck.” However, they do not waste any time regaling the book they’ve just read and how amazing it is. Can you feel the irony? It is so thick you might just slip in it.

Writers need to trudge on no matter what and keep the faith that’s in the darkest part of your heart alive and well. Water it daily with words…give it journal or a keyboard to feed on. Anything to keep the beast inside happy.

Growing up in a family surrounded with education, my dream to write a novel was akin “coming out.” For years, I kept my passion secret and guarded to my heart. As I aged and when the idea of writing full time came to me it concerned my adult siblings that I would take my “play time” so seriously.

Of course, it was a secret to no one. My pens and endless love of browsing journals at Barnes and Noble or the fact that I would scurry away during a conversation to scribble down notes like a little mouse all gave me away. The feeling that being a writer is an inadequate choice as a career is incredibly common. For years, I asked myself what else in the world could I do besides writing? Something that would be legitimate and make myself and everyone else proud. Moreover, a title that would allow me to fit better with my family of engineers, psychologists, forensic scientists, nutrition, and business.

I could have been a social scientist, a lawyer, or a business professional. But luck, fate, and my heart have always made me hesitate. I’d be swimming against my own stream and it would have been a struggle. Now, I’m ready to stop closing the door on my own dreams and reach for the moon. The Writer Mouse will send you a postcard when I get there.

8 thoughts on “Why Do Writer’s Write?

  1. Bobbi says:

    You go girl!

  2. Brittany, one of the great things about being a writer is that we’ve ALL spent years at that “aspiring” stage and understand what a long apprenticeship it really is… It helped me (coming from a family of scientists and business people–no other writers!) to just keep working on the things I could control, like crafting strong characters and fast-paced narratives, etc. It helps to develop very think skin, too, because people in every area of our lives (not just relatives but, also, friends, agents, editors, reviewers, readers…) will have an opinion of your writing. As writers, I think our belief in our stories has to come from within because there’s no way to predict or control the way others will react to our work.

    • Marilyn, that is incredibly true! Your story’s strength can only come from the writer and that writer does need to have a thicker skin in order to make it! I did read an article that discussed that the time before publication is a calmer, more relaxed time than after you start your career in it. After that point, there is deadlines and book promotion to add in as well as writing your second novel. That wonderful that you came from a similar family, its really hard being a writer if you do not have anyone to follow!

  3. becca says:

    You should write a review on Twenties Girl! And that other author you were recommended!

  4. becca says:

    You have a coffee house office too!?! Well they are the best 😀
    I think you are going to be a great author 🙂 and you can take me on a vacation with all of the money you are going to make when you are published!

    • Thanks Becca 😉 I will take you on vacation when I get published–that’s a promise!! The funny thing about a coffee house office some days it works to help me jump start my writing and other days is just an espresso filled distraction!

Leave a Reply

