Win an Autographed Copy of “The Cougar Club”

My first blog giveaway! Here is your chance to win an autographed copy of The Cougar Club.

The Cougar Club is a women’s fiction novel written by Susan McBride about three forty something women who find out that true friendship never dies and you are never too young to follow your heart. Kat’s perfect life is rattled when she loses her high-powered advertising job and catches her live-in lover in a compromising position. Carla is a TV news anchorwoman in danger of being replaced by a twentysomething blond. Elise is a successful dermatologist’s whose life comes undone after her kids leave the nest and thinks her husband is playing doctor with someone else. Come follow these woman as they try to navigate their life!

Susan McBride has published several mystery and young adult novels as well as won many awards.She was named “The Lou’s Whodunit Queen” by Sauce Magazine in St. Louis. Additionally, she one of the city’s “top singles” in 2005 by St. Louis Magazine but tied the knot in late February of 2008. Susan was the cover girl for the February 2009 issue of St. Louis Woman Magazine, where she was featured in the article, “Paperback Princess.” Check out my blog next week for an exclusive interview with Susan!

To have a chance to win this book, simply leave a comment answering the two following questions. You can enter anytime from right now up until Monday night. Those who answer both questions will have their names thrown into a hat. I’ll draw and announce the winner next Tuesday! Good luck!

1) What is your BEST and WORST dating experience?

For example:

Best: My first date with my husband, then high school boyfriend. I asked him out my senior year after meeting him in a rock climbing class. He picked me and we drove to the movie theatre. He said he was nervous so I told him there was nothing to be nervous about and held his hand. We cuddled during the movie and afterwards, he took me to his parents house (on the 1st date!), and we went on a walk to the nearby park. The best part was how comfortable we were right away with each other! We haven’t left each other sides for 6 yrs!

Worst: I was dumped at the end of Christmas day after having spent all day with his family whom I had just met. Ouch! I refer to him as He Who Must Not Be Named.

*Another Book Giveaway: Check out the Chick Lit Central for a chance to win “The Icing on the Cupcake” by Jennifer Ross! (Ends Sunday July 25)

16 thoughts on “Win an Autographed Copy of “The Cougar Club”

  1. karenk says:

    best date: a surprise dinner
    worst date: the zoo

  2. Allison: What an awesome date–a Lady and the Tramp themed dinner date! How romantic! Good thing you had change to get out of that bad date, I can’t believe he sang! Unfortunately, I have a lot of sisters but not a sister named Molly. I must look like someone else! Thanks for your comment and congratulations on your son!

    Susan: It’s so wonderful to hear everyone has had awesome and awful dates! And that they are willing to share them! I would have walked out of the stadium too, lol! Funny how often the best dates happen with future spouses–it wouldn’t work any other way! Thanks for the interview!

  3. Oh, man, I am loving these stories! I don’t think there’s a human being on this planet who hasn’t had a few bad dates (and hopefully at least one really good one!). I feel like I should chime in and share, too. So here you go!

    My worst date was a blind date when I was a freshman in college. It was to a football game (on campus), and he picked me up at my dorm. He was so not my type, we had zero to talk about, and I knew by the time we’d settled into our seats that it was a horrible mismatch. So after lasting as long as I could, I told him I had to use the restroom. I got up, walked away, and kept walking…all the way out of the stadium and back to my dorm. Never heard from him again (thank goodness). My best date: going to my first-ever hockey game with my husband, of course! 🙂

    Thanks, Brittany, for doing the contest! And thanks to those brave enough to share their good and bad dating tales! I’m enjoying reading them!

    Cheers,
    Susan

    P.S. Hi, Marilyn!!! Hugs back!

  4. Allison Brown says:

    My worst date: a blind date. Said he had blonde hair, blue eyes, tall and handsome. Also said he had great seats to the Muny Opera in St. Louis. Picked me up and he was blonde — kind of a tie-dyed — tall and handsome, not so much. We sat in the FREE seats at the Opera and he sang — loudly — all the way through. I was in my early 20s and my mom always gave me a quarer to use the phone in case I needed to come home. I called her at intermission, she came and got me and I left without ever telling him. he called me the next day to ask me out again.

    Best first date: A guy called and asked me if I would come over to his house for dinner. We watched Lady and the Tramp and he cooked a spaghetti dinner, complete with red and white checkered tablecloth, Chianti, etc. It was one of those nights you never wanted to end. very romantic.

    Tell your sister Molly hi. My son worked out at Hammerbodies in St. Louis when she was there. He just signed with the Phillies! Good luck with your book… it’s great.

  5. Krista says:

    I honestly have so many worst dates it is difficult to choose from!

    This was the Best and Worst date I have ever had:

    I was asked out after completing a final with a guy I had been dying to date all semester, honestly I had give up all hope. He was the only cute single guy in my first graduate class. Unfortunately my sisters had been waiting for me to complete my final all day so we could hangout. I decided I could go MIA for an hour and no one would notice, what a bad decision. We went to Old Chicago up the street from our college to get some celebratory drinks. We each got A DRINK and started talking. It was amazing! I had never talked to someone like I talked to him. We spent the next two hours laughing and enjoying each other’s company. My sisters kept calling me during the whole date. I did not want to be rude and answer my cell phone on my FIRST date with this guy so I kept hitting the ignore button. But this cell phone was new to me and it turns out I was hitting the answer button the whole time. My sisters were listening in on my entire date and they assumed the worst! They thought I sounded drunk and that I was with a stranger that was going to take advantage of me! Sadly they know me so well that when they heard people playing pool in the background they knew I was at the Old Chicago next to the university. They decided the only way to save me from this horrible situation was to crash my date! We were about to end the date when my little sister and her husband showed up at the bar. My little sister was shocked to see me with the slimiest man on earth and she felt her suspicions were confirmed. I was stunned to see them there “out of the blue”, especially since they had been calling me so much. They told us they had wanted pizza so they came to Old Chicago and SUPRIZE I was there! They said the place was too busy so they were going somewhere else to get pizza and my little sister wanted me to come with her, fyi my other sister was waiting outside in the getaway car. I looked around and saw the place was dead and insisted that she could order the pizza at the bar and it would not take long. She stubbornly sad no and kept insisting we go. My date all of the sudden go really quiet, and I said okay because I did not know how else to handle the situation. To my date, and me, it had appeared that I called for backup to save me from an awful date, which was the furthest thing from the truth! As we all awkwardly left the restaurant my date and I said goodbye to each other and parted ways. I knew that was the last time I was ever going to see him again! My sisters had ruined my chance with the most highly qualified potential partner I have ever met. Thanks a bunch lumpy! When we got to my sister’s car I said hi to my other sister and she instantly shoves her face into my mouth. She told me could smell alcohol and asked me how may did I have. I informed them I had had only one drink, over the course of 2 hours, and I had the receipt to prove it! Honestly their logic made no sense! Why would I get drunk with a guy I want to impress on my first date with him??? Anyways, they cautiously allow me to get into my car and tell me they will follow me out of the parking lot, this was also a bad decision! The area around the restaurant was getting a face lift at the time and I did not know how to get out since there were fewer lights around, it was dark, and there were barrier walls up everywhere. They saw me drive up to one wall, reverse, drive up to another wall take a quick turn right and then stop. I had no idea how to exit out through the back so I decided I better go out the front. They were horrified because they thought they had let me drive drunk! I explained to them my plan, and my confusion, and one of my sister’s insisted that she go with me. She popped into my car and grabbed the keys from me! I grabbed them back, and then we got into a classic girl slapping fight for the keys! I finally prevailed, insisted that I was not DRUNK, and drove to my parent’s house where they were staying. For the next 2 hours I was rimed by my sisters and PARENTS about my carless behavior. They still thought I was drunk! Good God that was a very bad night.
    In the end the guy did call me for another date, MIRACULOUSLY! I was nervous because one of my sisters had told me she had NEVER WANTED ME TO DATE THIS MAN AGAIN! But seriously, he was the best guy I had ever met… so I kept dating him! When my sister’s finally met him again they were shocked at how harmless he looked “OUTSIDE OF THE BAR LIGHT”.
    I just got married to this guy two months ago! What a way to break him into the family!

  6. Bobbi: What a perfect date-a dinner cruise!! For your worst date–I guess it was for better that you missed the movie so you could go home faster!LOL! That’s not fun at all!

    Robin: Thanks! I hate falling down, I’m clumsy only when others are watching!! Thanks for sharing.

    Marilyn: Hello! I’ll have to check out your new book for more information!

  7. Bobbi says:

    Best: I met a very special guy and we drove out of town for a little getaway. My date and I went on a dinner cruise. We had cocktails, watched the sunset, munched on a delicious dinner and dessert buffet, and watched fireworks. We also danced our butts off until the last song was over and everyone was leaving the ship. My date was charming, sweet, and bold on the dance floor. It was the perfect night and I didn’t want it to end.

    Worst: I met a guy online and set up a date with him after we sent a couple messages back and forth (This was a bad idea. I should have talked to him over the phone before setting up a date). I had him pick me up to go see a movie. (Another bad idea, you should always meet people you have never met) Ten seconds after he picked me up 20 minutes late. He drove through a stop sign, and started yelling in his car when he thought the driver in front of him wasn’t moving fast enough. We missed the movie because it was sold out by the time we got there. We were on completely different mental levels so the conversations were odd and uncomfortable. I was thankful to go back home after this short first date.

  8. Robin says:

    Hey Brittany, So many interviews…so cool!

    Worst date? Well, maybe not the worst, but the most embarrassing. We went to a semi-outdoor ‘penny arcade’ and it started to rain. We ran downhill to a nearby building and I slipped in a mud puddle making the seat of my white pants black and wet. And my face red!

    Best wishes on your blog, but by the looks of it, you’re doing a great job.

  9. Just had to leave a comment here so I could wave to Brittany and give a big cyber hug to Susan!!! Hi, ladies!

    I’m not sure I could encapsulate my best *or* worst dating experiences into a few sentences–LOL–but I will say that both extremes provided me with MUCH material for future stories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

