Author in the Making: Being your own Boss

I’ve never been good at New Year resolutions. The enthusiasm quickly fades in January and I’m often left with a profound To Do list that accidently meets a violent fate: the trash. But for me, there’s always been something magical about summer. It’s a place where anything can happen. Where the world of your dreams comes to rest and play.

My summer resolution was to write a novel after years of short stories and poetry. I did write two novella’s which, looking back at how much I have evolved since then, were nothing short of a great exercise in longevity of a story. After learning more and reading more and writing more, I knew I was ready to take the plunge. Write a book.

In May, I wrote a killer first chapter and then…nothing. Family events and my own procrastination steered me clear of my desk that month. Finally in mid June, I realized like so many others, I don’t thrive in a relaxed atmosphere. I must have deadlines to get any work done.

The hardest thing about writing is being your own boss. I have to be a hard ass on myself and I must say, I can be very persuasive when I want to be. I had to give myself a target, a mission if you will of words I need to hit each day, five days a week. No matter what I sit down and do it. The target: 2,000 words. Of course that goal can be easier said than done which brings me to

My Writer Tip of the Day:

*Stick a post-it to your desk top so it covers up the word count at the bottom of your word document. This is similar to working and covering the console with a towel. Before you know it, you’ve been huffing and puffing for thirty minutes. The same goes for writing. If I can get into the zone of my book without peeking, I can write much more than when I’m staring at the screen and saying, “That was only 200 words?!”

As for my novel? When I started out, I couldn’t help but feel daunted by the task at hand. So I stopped thinking about it and celebrated every milestone: 10,000, 20,000, 30,000 and yes this week I hit 40,000 words! The more I write the more I fall in love with main character and feel she’s part of the family now. I’m so excited that I’m in the down slope of my young adult novel and am a little more than halfway done. My reward? My husband and I are going to pull out that bottle of Riesling we’ve been saving…

To all the writer and author’s out there working on a novel: Keep up the good work and don’t forget to include The Write Stuff!

3 thoughts on “Author in the Making: Being your own Boss

  1. Bobbi says:

    I can’t wait to read your book. Great job girl! Nice tip too. I agree with your comment. Its really hard to get things done without deadlines.

  2. Krista says:

    You are doing so great! Congratulations!!

    • Thank you! It’s so wonderful to be so far into my book. Of course now that the end is getting nearer, and nearer I’m feeling sad. It’s hard to build up a character and then let it go 🙂

Leave a Reply

