Interview with Author Isabelle Laflèche

*Looking for a glamourous book to read? Check out this exclusive interview with Isabelle Laflèche and come back next week for a chance to enter a TEN book giveaway and win an copy of Isabelle’s book, J’adore New York!

Once upon a time, a stylish writer worked as a lawyer for over ten years in New York City, Toronto, and Montreal in a large law firm and on Wall Street. This writer was also lover of all things chic and worked with a fashion designer in Quebec where her love of haute couture blossomed. That very same writer wrote a dazzling novel about a chic lawyer determined to conquer Manhattan law and love. Without further ado, here is the author in her debut, J’adore New York, Isabelle Laflèche.

1) You currently work in publishing. What is it like? Did that help when it came to publishing your first novel?

It is a lot of fun. You meet lots of very interesting people and learn a lot about the industry. It didn’t help me get published since I was hired after the rights to my novel were sold to my publisher.

2) What were the steps you took to publish your 1st book?

I started out by taking creative writing classes at a local university to find out whether I had any potential talent. This gave me the confidence I needed to take my writing more seriously. I then attended a few writers’ conferences, (one by the name of  SEAK for lawyers who want to publish novels!) and sent it out to friends, agents and publishers to get some feedback. After knocking on many doors, one finally opened for me.

3) Were there any high or low points to writing your novel?

There were plenty of  high points: when I really got into writing some of the dialogue for my characters, and when I actually laughed out loud after writing a few scenes. The low point was going through several series of corrections with my editor. It was a little disheartening at times….

4) Who has been your biggest influence?

Other female writers such as Candace Bushnell, Jennifer Weiner and Maryan Keyes.

5) What is your best author experience so far?

Receiving messages from my readers telling me that my novel helped them change their path in life.

6) What do you when you’re not writing?

I blog on Pink Lemonade Design, I run, kayak and cycle and also ski in the winter (a must when you live up here in Quebec!) I also love to attend jazz concerts.

7) When you’re writing, what must you have next to you?

A scented candle, lots of writing notebooks in case I need to scribble any ideas on paper and a cup of green tea.

8 ) Tell me about your debut book, J’adore New York:

It is the story of Catherine Lambert, a chic parisian lawyer who requests a transfer to her firm’s New York office. A dedicated follower of fashion and everything stylish, she is determined to conquer the high-flying world of Manhattan law — and love. Catherine’s dreams of glamour fizzle quickly, however, when she is faced with the hard realities of her profession. The pressure of billable hours, the incessant demands of her impossible bosses, the conspiracies of two malicious secretaries and the advances of the lecherous client prompt her to question her career choice. But then she meets Jeffrey Richardson, a powerful client, and her New York life takes on the romance she’d hoped it would — until an unexpected request forces Catherine to re-evaluate the exclusive world she’s chosen for herself.

J’Adore New York is also a call for introspection and the need to reevaluate one’s values in the face of excessive consumerism and society’s obsession with money and power.

9) You’ve been a lawyer on Wall Street, worked with a fashion designer in Quebec, and now in the publishing industry. Have these different avenue’s in your life sculpted you as a writer?

Yes, absolutely. The background in law provides the discipline required to finish a novel; the fashion experience provides whimsy and glamour; and the publishing experience helps me understand how this business works.

10) Describe your most fashion savvy outfit and accessories that you consider make the world a better place.

A pair of J.Crew jeans with a ruffled shirt, a colorful cardigan, boots or heels and my new Lady Dior handbag.

11) What are a few of your favorite things?

Pink peonies, dogs, magazines, pecan pie, New York City, vintage books, nautical stripes, macaroons, ribbons and pearls.

To learn more about Isabelle’s favorite things, check out her blog!

6 thoughts on “Interview with Author Isabelle Laflèche

  1. […] New York is a debut novel of Isabelle Laflèche. Isabelle worked for ten years as an attorney in New York City, Toronto, and Montreal in a large […]

  2. Bobbi says:

    Wow, good interview! She has an interesting background. I can’t wait to read this book..I want..I need:)

  3. Becca- Isn’t that so awesome she was a lawyer on Wall Street? And worked with a fashion designer?!

    Sarah-It’s such a great book!

    J.M. Macy- Lol! Same here! Glad you like the interview.

  4. Becca says:

    This book sounds great, she has such a unique background!

  5. Sarah says:

    Awesome interview! I have wanted to read this book so bad!

  6. J.M. Lacey says:

    Wow, this book sounds really interesting. I love fashion! Thanks for sharing the interview, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

