Author Update with Maureen Lipinski

*Looking for a laugh out loud novel? Check out this update with Maureen Lipinski and come back next week for a chance to enter a TEN book giveaway and win an copy of Maureen’s book, Not Ready for Mom Jeans!

Maureen Lipinski is the author of A Bump in the Road and the sequel, Not Ready for Mom Jeans. A Bump in the Road surrounds an event planner and famous blogger, Clare Finnegan, as she navigates marriage and an unexpected pregnancy after a wild night in Law Vegas. Not Ready for Mom Jeans follows Clare as she juggles returning to work, family, and being a new mommy.

To kick off the TEN book giveaway, The Write Stuff is checking back in with Maureen. She’s sharing her thoughts on pregnancy, being a mommy, and still not being ready for mom jeans!

1) Your latest novel, Not Ready for Mom Jeans, focuses on the humor and struggles of returning to work post-baby. What has been the hardest part of working as a mother with young children?

I think the hardest thing has been learning how to accomplish tasks in a small window of time. I usually have only about fifteen minutes at a time in between fulfilling requests for more juice and wiping crayon marks off the walls, so I have to find ways to accomplish a lot in a very small amount of time.

2) In your first novel, A Bump in the Road, your main character must trade beer bottles for baby bottles and live in a world where eating lunchmeat is the equivalent of crack. How did your life change pre-pregnancy to post-pregnancy?

After my son was born, I knew things would change. I figured I would get less sleep and have very little free time. But, honestly, all of the “knowing” in the world doesn’t really prepare you for the reality of being at the mercy of a tiny human being who doesn’t yet understand the concept of eight hours of sleep. I remember longing for the days when I could read an entire People magazine, cover to cover, without stopping to change a diaper.

3) How has being a mom changed your perspective in writing and life?

Becoming a mother both expanded and shrunk my universe. On one hand, I instantly become a member in the “Mom Club” and could understand why my mother still sleeps with her cell phone next to her bed every night despite all of us being grown up. I felt this instant connection not only to my own child, but to other children. On the other hand, my focus turned very much inward to my own home and navigating the often scary waters of new parenthood.

4) Congratulations on your latest baby bump! How far along are you?

Thanks! I am six months pregnant and due at the end of the year. Here’s hoping that the next baby will be a nice, well-behaved child who loves to sleep. My son had extreme colic during his first three months, so we are hoping for a bit more luck this time!

5) What is your favorite and not so favorite part of pregnancy?

My favorite part of this pregnancy is always having an excuse to eat that second scoop of ice cream. With my first pregnancy, I really enjoyed the newness of it all, also. The second time around is a bit less exciting, and more stressful since I have a three year old to wrangle, but we’re looking forward to meeting the little one soon.

My least favorite part of being pregnant is the exhaustion. Even if I get nine hours of sleep (which I rarely ever do), I’m still tired all the time. Again, some of that might be related to chasing my son around all day, but it kind of feels like a constant hangover…coupled with jet lag.

6) What’s the best part about being a mom?

The best part about being a mom is seeing the world through my son’s eyes. He’s quite the hilarious little charmer and honestly? You just never know what’s going to come out of a three year old’s mouth. Just yesterday he told me that I have lots of “dots” on my back. I tried to tell him that they’re freckles, but he just looked at me like I was insane.

7) Now that you are in your second pregnancy, do you find yourself more ready for mom jeans?

Not in the literal sense! But with more kids, the will to remain hip and “with it” definitely wanes a bit. I still have what I call minivan-itis and refuse to wear pleated, high-waisted Mom Jeans, but I’m certainly not going to start clubbing or caring about getting into the VIP section anymore. If I’m going out when I’m not pregnant, you can believe I’m wearing jeans and comfy flats to a hole-in-the-wall pub. And will probably be in bed before midnight.

8 ) Has expanding your family given you any ideas for a possible third novel in the series?

I have toyed with the idea of doing a third Clare book. I do think about what she’s doing now, if she has more kids, how her business is going. But, ultimately, that decision is going to remain with the “powers that be,” so we shall see!

9) What authors do you look up to?

Too many to count! I love Marian Keyes, Pat Conroy, Jen Lancaster and Bill Bryson. And I’m always on the lookout for new authors, so be sure to send me some recommendations!

Check out Maureen’s first interview with The Write Stuff!

5 thoughts on “Author Update with Maureen Lipinski

  1. Maureen says:

    Thanks so much for asking such fun questions!

  2. […] Ready for Mom Jeans is Maureen Lipinski’s sequel to, A Bump in the Road. Previously, event planner and famous blogger, Clare Finnegan, […]

  3. Bobbi says:

    Ahahahaha I love this interview. Maureen’s responses are so funny and and she seems like a very down to earth person. I can’t wait to read her books!

  4. Krista says:

    OMG I want to read this book, I feel just like the title!

Leave a Reply

