Win a copy of “The Stuff That Never Happened”

Thanks to Author Maddie Dawson, we’re giving away a hardcover copy of the The Stuff That Never Happened.

What happens when your children leave the nest? How does a parent cope when the halls of their home are silent? Annabelle McKay has no idea. In fact, she’s been trying to hold it together now that her married daughter is starting a family of her own and her son is away at college. But beneath it all, she’s devastated and finds herself tearing up in the most unlikely places like the grocery store. Perhaps it would all be possible if the man she spent three decades married to wasn’t locked away in his office working on a novel every day and night . She begins to wonder about the stuff they both vowed to never mention again. An affair. Her affair. Did she choose the right man? The right path? Where would her life be if she had divorced her husband Grant?

In the midst of it all, she receives a frantic phone call from her daughter who’s pregnancy is threatened, Annabelle flys to New York to be at her daughter’s side. Finally, she’s appreciated by someone. In the weeks that follow, daughter and mother bond as details of their marriages unravel…and Annabelle runs into her Misterse (what I like to call a guy mistress). She suddenly has the chance to follow a new path or hold true to the man she vowed to love through the good times and bad?

This novel is one that hits real issues in a long-term marriage head on without being shy. At the same time, it warms the heart as you learn why she fell in love with her husband. The book’s chapters alternate between today and the day she met her husband, weaving in the events that took place that shaped their marriage forever. I loved this book. It dealt with so many complex issues seen in marriage, new and old, as well as the bonds parents make with their children for life. I also loved the interaction between the newly married daughter and her mother.

The only part I did not altogether like was the mention of Annabelle’s pot use with her brother (who became addicted) when she was in college. I just do not particularly like reading about drugs or addiction even though it’s a very, very small part in the book. However, I absolutely loved the honesty employed in the book on that topic at the same time 😀

That being said, it’s a funny, suspenseful read that will tug at your heart strings!

So what are you waiting for? Hurry up and enter for a chance to win!

To Enter:

Simply leave a comment answering the question below for a chance to win!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up until Sunday (Oct. 24). Those who answer the question will be entered to win. Giveaways are U.S. only (sorry!) When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

I’ll announce the winner next Monday! Once contacted, winners will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

1) What’s the longest relationship you’ve been in?

For me? I’ve been married to my husband for six years and we’ve been together for seven 😀

48 thoughts on “Win a copy of “The Stuff That Never Happened”

  1. Nancye Davis says:

    I posted this Giveaway my Facebook Wall
    FB ID: Nancye Epperson Davis
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=1590164998

  2. Nancye Davis says:

    Tweet! Tweet!
    @NancyeDavis

  3. Nancye Davis says:

    I follow you on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

  4. Nancye Davis says:

    I like you on Facebook

  5. Nancye Davis says:

    email subscriber

  6. Nancye Davis says:

    The longest relationship I have ever had is with my husband. We have been married for 17 years, but have been together for 19 years! Wow! How blessed I am to be married to the man of my dreams!

  7. Sarah says:

    tweeted @happymama82

  8. Sarah says:

    I follow you on twitter!

  9. Sarah says:

    6 years….with my wonderful husband!

  10. Sarah says:

    I follow on fb

  11. Sarah says:

    I have wanted to read this book…thx for the chance to win it~

  12. karenk says:

    i’m an email subscriber….and a follower, too 🙂

  13. karenk says:

    10 years 🙂

  14. I follow on Twitter as LostLibraryGirl

  15. I’m a member of The Write Stuff on Facebook.

  16. I’ve been happily married to my husband for 13 years.

  17. Bobbi says:

    Hey thanks for the great review of the book!! Longest was 3.5 years.

  18. Ruthie B says:

    Well I think I have everyone beat…I have been married to my wonderful husband for 38 years. We went through the ’empty nest’ thing a few times when both of my children left for college but came back home after either losing a job or not finding one. Happy to say they are both in stable relationships & jobs! Would love to read this one.

    ruthiekb72@yahoo.com

  19. Brittany, thank you so much for such a sweet, thoughtful review of my book! I love that you asked readers to tell you how long their long relationships have lasted. And thank all of you for entering the contest and telling about your relationships. It really is fun writing about people’s marriages–they’re all so different and compelling! My new novel (in the process of being written) is about a woman who’s just discovered she’s pregnant for the first time at age 44. Thanks again!

  20. Michele says:

    longest relationship about a year.

  21. Michele says:

    I follow via twitter.

  22. Michele says:

    I follow on facebook!

  23. Michele says:

    I subscribe via email!

  24. Jane Cook says:

    Hi, already a blog follower – I’m really looking forward to this book!

    What is the longest ‘relationship’ I’ve been in?- hmmm. Depends on your definition of ‘relationship. I divorced my first husband after 4 years of marriage, but because of our son, still have a ‘relationship’ of sorts. I was married to my second husband for only 7 years, but now 9 years after his death I still feel very much in a ‘relationship’ with him. The most time spent with someone? That would be my cat Koko…14 years and counting.

  25. Nancy says:

    The one I’m in now, to my husband. We’ve been married for 11 years and together for 14 years!

  26. Brenda Butler says:

    am an email subscriber to your blog :0)

  27. Brenda Butler says:

    shared on FB

  28. Brenda Butler says:

    tweeted

  29. Brenda Butler says:

    I follow you on twitter @mommasdawge :0)

  30. Brenda Butler says:

    am a facebook fan…..saw your post about this giveaway :0)

  31. Brenda Butler says:

    14 years of marriage…..to me a very long time…..have been a widow now for 10yrs

  32. Teresa says:

    I was in a relationship for 10 years.

  33. and of course.. I must always have all my favorites on all my social media channels so I am a member on facebook

  34. I subscribe to this blog ( : Faithful follower!

  35. I follow on twitter and I tweeted included your @ and link

  36. I have been eyeing this book and have not bought yet due to my TBReviewed pile! I would love to add it!!

    My longest relationship is with my husband of 6 years.
    My longest friendship is from birth. We were born 9 months apart and our mom’s were friends. We have been ever since.

  37. Shannon says:

    My longest relationship was off and on with my daughters father for about 2 years. I unfortunatly don’t have a lot of patience.

  38. Colleen Turner says:

    I am a Facebook fan ( Colleen Turner).

  39. Colleen Turner says:

    I am an email subscriber to your blog.

  40. Colleen Turner says:

    My husband and I have been together for 9 years, being married for six of those years. That is definitely the longest relationship I have had…and loving every minute of it :).

Leave a Reply

