Win a copy of Moonlight in Odessa

Thanks to Author Janet Skeslien Charles, we’re giving away a copy of Moonlight in Odessa!

Moonlight in Odessa is one of the loveliest novels I’ve ever read. The instant I began to read, I felt myself transported to Odessa, side by side with Daria. The book begins with Daria, a sassy secretary making coffee for her new American boss as he times her. Except her boss, Mr. Harmon, wants more than coffee. In fact, he thinks sleeping with him should be a job perk.

Despite being a brilliant young woman and not knowing how long she can hold off her boss’s advances, this job pays well. And Daria needs this job. She wants more to life. She dreams of a more freedom, more stability… of America itself. A home that is sure to hold the key to a brighter future.

In an attempt to stave off her boss’s advances, she cleverly brings in her friend, Olga, who quickly catches Mr. Harmon’s eyes. But her plan backfires when Olga orders Mr. Harmon to fire Daria in an attempt to get rid of any competition. Fearing for her job, Daria takes a second one at an Internet dating service that hooks up American men with foreign Odessan brides over email.

Now Daria is playing matchmaker and seeing these woman happy, married, and off in America with their new husbands. She starts to wonder if that isn’t the solution. In the meant time, she starts a relationship with a powerful, yet unpredictable Ukrainian mobster who dazzles and then…(well I let your read it–I don’t want to give it all away!).

With stars in her eyes and an open, hopeful heart she meets an American through email and heads to the US for her new life. Except Daria quickly learns that who someone is on paper does not translate to how they’re in real life as she begins to learn some of the lies her new husband kept from her.

Janet Skeslien Charles did a beautiful job describing the differences in culture, social, and economical structure between Ukraine and America. She wrote a mesmerizing tale of a young woman on a quest to carve out a life of her own.

To Enter:

Simply leave a comment answering the question below for a chance to win!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up until Sunday (Nov. 7). Those who answer the question will be entered to win. This Giveaway is open to everyone, near or far! When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

I’ll announce the random winner next Monday! Once contacted, winners will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

1) What is the one place you would like to find yourself one day?

For me? It’s Paris in front of the Eiffel Tower 😀

29 thoughts on “Win a copy of Moonlight in Odessa

  1. Nancye Davis says:

    Facebook Post

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=1590164998

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  2. Nancye Davis says:

    Tweet! Tweet!
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  3. Nancye Davis says:

    I follow you on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  4. Nancye Davis says:

    I like you on Facebook

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  5. Nancye Davis says:

    email subscriber

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  6. Nancye Davis says:

    I see myself on the beach in Hawaii!!

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  7. Ruthie B says:

    Anywhere in Italy…it all looks wonderful!

    ruthiekb72@yahoo.com

  8. […] week I hosted not one but two contests! The first is an international book giveaway for Moonlight in Odessa by Janet Skeslien Charles. You’ll have a chance to enter to win up to […]

  9. I follow on Twitter as LostLibraryGirl

  10. I’m a member of The Write Stuff on facebook.

  11. The one place I’d like to find myself would be New Zealand. Such a beautiful and unique country.

  12. Sable says:

    Add a me too check mark for Paris. I literally scour the tourist books to find places that get high praise for things that feel like a match for my preferences.

    I found La Terrasse du 7eme, a sidewalk cafe that seems perfectly located for people watching and good snacks. My dream is to spend a week in Paris and take in the music and museums and all of the soul and spirit of the city that holds the top spot on my list of places I must visit.

  13. Krista says:

    I would love to walk on the Great Wall of China one day!

  14. Alicia says:

    I want to find myself laying on a beach in some place remote-but not scary remote, sipping a pina colada while planning how to spend my millions.

    I’m already a blog follower and I follow you on Twitter.

    I tweeted about this contest: http://twitter.com/aliciacald

  15. karenk says:

    i would love to visit charleston, sc.
    thanks for the opportunity to reaad this fabulous novel 🙂

  16. tawnya says:

    And…I’m a member on FB.

  17. tawnya says:

    I follow via twitter…

  18. tawnya says:

    Greece. Lounging on a boat with my love.

  19. Julie Failla Earhart says:

    Rome

  20. Nancy says:

    In Puerto Rico and am working towards that goal right now. Just a few more years!

  21. I am also a fan of your facebook page ( :

  22. I follow via twitter ( :

  23. I am a subscriber of this blog.

  24. I would love to win! My sister is in Hawaii ( : I plan to visit! Until then….

  25. Shannon says:

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/shannon.johnson1

    Not sure if this will work but I attached it to The Write Stuff on facebook!

  26. Shannon says:

    I want to find myself on a beach in Hawaii!!! Soon please LOL!!!
    I am a fan on facebook and subscribe to the blog.

Leave a Reply

