Win a copy of Perfection

Thanks to BookSparks, we’re giving away a copy of Perfection by Julie Metz!

The memoir begins with the unexpected death of Julie’s husband Henry. As Julie’s world is turned upside down, she decides to finish the novel her husband was working on titled, “Umami,” the Japanese word for perfection.

In the middle of coping with the loss of her husband (a man whom she knew for sixteen years), her walls of perfection come crashing down as she is forced to face the dizzying fact that Henry led a double life. He had multiple mistresses including an affair with a close friend of hers. Little, troubling things finally add up such as when Henry stopped wearing his wedding ring. The life she strived for was far from perfect. With the shocking information revealed to her, Julie tracks down each mistress and confronts her.

As Julie friends reveal secrets they knew of and she uncovers more women, she takes the reader on a raw, honest journey into hell itself such as when discovers personal journal entries and emails, the shock when she called her doctor for STD testing to find out Henry had requested an HIV test one month before he died, and her quest for a new life for herself and their daughter.

All I can say is wow. That’s takes a lot of guts.

After the first ten pages in which Julie describes finding her husband on the floor unresponsive, I cried. I couldn’t ever fathom the horror involved in losing your spouse. I also have to commend Julie for writing this book. It takes an incredible amount of courage to display such personal information for the world to see. Julie writes beautifully and is brutally honest in this memoir. She did so for women everywhere out there that are in a similar situation like Elin Nordegren or Sandra Bullock.

The only part of the book I did not like was how quickly Julie started a new relationship with a man both of them had known. Nor did I care to hear about Julie’s intimate escapades. That being said, no one can predict how they might act in this situation. Julie shows the reader a complete portrayal of everything that happened which, once again, is very brave.

This book is incredibly raw and meant for those who can handle it. I have to admit that at times I could not bear to read the personal emails Henry sent to his mistresses. It was too heartbreaking for me.

*I also have to put in a note of caution: this book contains information and language that is explicit. This giveaway is only eligible for those who are 18 and older.

To Enter:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up until Sunday night (Nov. 28). Those who comment will be entered to win. Giveaways are U.S. only (sorry!) When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name. You must be 18 or older to enter.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

As always, every name is thrown into a hat or in the case of huge entries…a bucket, and I’ll announce the winners on Nov. 29! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*With Thanksgiving at our doorstep, what are you plans for the holiday?

For example: This will be my second year making Thanksgiving at home with my husband. At the very least I know we can cook a turkey without burning the house down! It’s our tradition to have turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy…and for some reason (maybe growing up in a household of five females) cheesecake is a staple dessert for this holiday.

27 thoughts on “Win a copy of Perfection

  1. Bobbi says:

    Yay, another Giveaway!! Okay, going to spend time with the family over xmas and make pumpkin squares and stawberry cheesecake:) Will also be skiing, snowboarding, tubing, shopping, drinking hot cocoa and reading some good books.

  2. My husband and I will be having Thanksgiving at one of his wonderful sisters’ home in Marblehead, with his huge family. I’m very fortunate to have in-laws that I adore; and his sisters call me their “frister”: friend + sister.

    We’ll all make a dish or two or three, and again I’ll feel guilty that there’s far too much food when so many don’t have enough! T assuage that, we’ll donate (different) food to shelters and food kitchens.

  3. karenk says:

    i’m a follower 🙂

  4. karenk says:

    email subscriber 🙂

  5. karenk says:

    would love to read this novel…thanks for the opportunity 🙂

  6. Krista says:

    I am following you Facebook!

  7. Krista says:

    I am following you on Twitter!

  8. Krista says:

    I am going to make some side dishes and take them to my Mom’s Thanksgiving!

  9. Jane Cook says:

    Because of multiple divorces and multiple step-families, and now my son living out of state, I’ve been alone on Thanksgiving since my husband passed away. Works for me!

    jcsites2002 at hotmail dot come

  10. Michele says:

    My entire family is going out to eat to celebrate Thanksgiving! Can’t wait!!!!

  11. Lisa McGeen says:

    I follow you on twitter
    @lmm831

  12. Lisa McGeen says:

    I will be spending the day at my aunts for Thanksgiving and my nephew’s first birthday

    lisa.mcgeen@hotmail.com

  13. Shannon says:

    I will stay home and eat way to much. Then we will decorate the Christmas tree!

  14. Nancy H says:

    My husband and I are celebrating our 11th anniversary which also happens to be thanksgiving this year. Oh, did I mention we’re celebrating in Puerto Rico??!

  15. Huge family dinner at the inlaws on Thursday. Small affair for my family on Wednesday night. Used to do it all the same day…way too much food!
    Am a blog subscriber!
    jacque

  16. Ruthie B says:

    FB follower

    ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  17. Ruthie B says:

    Email subscriber

    ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  18. Ruthie B says:

    My Thanksgiving will be a day late until my family can all travel to my table, but we will celebrate the way we always do with the traditional turkey, stuffing, sweet potatoes & green beans. We don’t mess with proven winners!

    ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  19. Colleen Turner says:

    I am a Facebook friend (Colleen Turner).

  20. Colleen Turner says:

    I subscribe to the blog via email.

  21. Colleen Turner says:

    I am an email subscriber.

  22. Colleen Turner says:

    I will be celebrating Thanksgiving at home with my husband and five year old son. Most of our family lives a while away, so we tend to just celebrate together. I will cook the normal fare: turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, green beans and rolls. My favorite part of the day will be watching the parade, and after we eat our big meal (and while my husband watches football/naps on the couch) I will fulfill my tradition of watching It’s a Wonderful Life in the afternoon. That is it!

Leave a Reply

