Win a copy of The Naked Gardener

Thanks to BookSparks, we’re giving away a copy of The Naked Gardener by L B Gschwandtner.

Artist Katelyn Cross appears to lead a satisfied life. She just finished restoring farmland with man she loves dearly, Greg Mazur, friends surround her when she needs them…and she since she lives in a rural area; she also garden’s naked.

In reality, Katelyn is at crossroads in her life. She can feel it. Perhaps it’s the fact that she knows she can’t compete with Maze’s first wife, who died of cancer. She can see it…every time she looks at her flat thirty-seven year old stomach. No husband. No children.

And as Maze puts it, “Always one foot out the door.”

Feeling the crushing weight of time and decisions that have to be made, Katelyn decides to go on a canoe trip with six women as they’re leader and to think of ideas to save their bleeding town, Trout River Falls. The real challenges aren’t in the adventure though, it’s the problems each of them face back at home.

This book is all about friendship, camaraderie, and opening your heart to others. What could be better? And who doesn’t love it when six women can head into the wild alone? In addition as you may have guessed, it is definitely a book for those who love gardening! I could see it in the way the author described tending to her garden, protecting it, and nurturing it. It reminded me of a time long ago when I helped my father plant his garden.

That being said, the tempo of this book is slower and much more relaxed than I am used to. While I may have not enjoyed that aspect, it was calming at the same time and reflected its characters well.

So…what are you waiting for?!

To Enter:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up until Sunday night (Dec. 5). Those who comment will be entered to win. Giveaways are U.S. only (sorry!) When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

As always, every name is thrown into a hat or in the case of huge entries…a bucket, and I’ll announce the winners on Dec. 5! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*With Christmas almost at our doorstep, what are you plans for this holiday?

For example: I’ll be headed home for Christmas. It’s been six months since I’ve seen my whole family and I cannot wait! Hopefully I’ll be able to do some hiking, drinks lots of hot coco, and laugh…a lot…

22 thoughts on “Win a copy of The Naked Gardener

  1. Bobbi says:

    I plan to spend xmas with the family, eat good food, and have some holiday fun:)

  2. karenk says:

    i’m a follower…and email subscriber 🙂

  3. karenk says:

    i plan to spend this holiday w/ family and friends 🙂

  4. Carol Wong says:

    I am a Facebook fan of this blog.

    CarolNWong(at)aol.com

  5. Carol Wong says:

    I tweeted. My Twitter name is Carolee888

    https://brittanyroshelle.wordpress.com/2010/12/02/win-a-copy-of-the-naked-gardener/ See link for giveaway of ‘The Naked Gardener’.

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  6. Carol Wong says:

    I follow you on Twitter.

    CarolNWong@aol.com

  7. Carol Wong says:

    I am an e-mail subcriber of The Write Stuff.

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  8. Carol Wong says:

    I will be spending Christmas at home with my husband.

  9. Ruthie B says:

    FB follower…Ruthie B

    ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  10. Ruthie B says:

    Email subscriber

    ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  11. Ruthie B says:

    My family will all be here on Christmas day but not until after lunch because we split the time with the other grandparents…next year I will host Christmas Eve & morning.

    ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  12. Lisa McGeen says:

    I follow you on face book LIsa Mcgeen
    lisa.mcgeen@hotmail.com

  13. Lisa McGeen says:

    We will be spending the 23rd with my parents and sister and her family to enjoy the holiday. Christmas eve is children’s service at church and then home to be with out family. Christmas morning at home and then off to the inlaws
    lisa.mcgeen@hotmail.com

  14. Colleen Turner says:

    I am a Facebook friend (Colleen Turner).

  15. Colleen Turner says:

    I subscribe via email to the blog.

  16. Colleen Turner says:

    I am an email subscriber to the blog.

  17. Colleen Turner says:

    My husband, son and I are going back home the few days before Christmas Eve and then we have to be back home for Christmas Eve because my husband has to work. Then we will celebrate Christmas together and the next day my parents come into town! Busy holiday for us :).

  18. Krista says:

    My plans are to eat plenty of goodies, see family, and have fun!

  19. Shannon says:

    I have to work Christmas Eve but plan to spend Christmas day home with my family!
    I subscribe to the blog and am a fan on facebook!

  20. Nancy H. says:

    I will be spending Christmas at home with my husband. Of course, we will be doing lots of visiting with family and friends!

Leave a Reply

