Multiple Book Giveaway for Packing For Mars

Thanks to author Mary Roach, we’re giving away 3 copies of Packing for Mars!

Packing for Mars is a nonfiction tale of one writer’s quest to learn about space, astronauts, and what it would take to send someone to Mars.

I was surprised by everything I read in this book. Particularly, the complex and frustrating life of an astronaut. Not only do they have to commit most of their life to the space program, they have to relearn everything in space including potty training, eat food cubes galore, put up with wicked motion sickness, and hoards of mental and physical tests and training exercises….all while keeping a perfectly calm face. Because if they lose it for a second or bring anyone’s attention to a struggle they are having, they’re grounded. They won’t be on a mission in space and their life’s dream is gone.

Needless to say if I had ever wondered about being in a space program, I know now that that was just a dream. I’m not that patient.

I’ve learned more about space, astronauts, and the history of space travel than I ever have in school. All the questions one ponders but does not have the ability to ask were answered in this book.

For instance, did you know…

-That some astronaut’s experience “space euphoria” in which a feeling of sheer bliss takes hold…which sounds nice, right? Except that same astronaut becomes so consumed that there is a refusal to go back in the space capsule. They simply want to float in space uninhibited. It’s all up to the crew inside the capsule to get that person back in or eventually, cut them loose should they fail to do so.

-Space motion sickness is a secret misery and extreme nuisance to astronauts. Turning your head too fast or too much can trigger it. (That sure seems easy, right?) It was also the same reason behind the entire crew of Soyuz 10 mission abort.

-The stretch receptors in your bladder fail to work in space. Thus, the normal “signal” to go is completely absent.

-In consideration for a four-man mission to Mars (three year mission time count), NASA has looked into clothing made from egg whites and chicken feathers as a means of clothing and food combined.

-When you breathe out in space, the carbon dioxide stays fixated around you leading to a massive headache due to the lack of oxygen if you’re not too careful.

-You’re three inches taller in space due to the fact that your spine stretches out.

The best part of this book besides extremely cool facts is Mary’s ability to communicate science language into plain English. As you read the book, you feel as if you’re learning everything about space just as the author is…without the typical “science talk” that can be difficult to understand and read!

This book is by far the best book out there if your looking to learn what’s beyond earth, what’s been done in space, how one even lives in space, and the life of an astronaut in a funny, simple manner.

And if I may say so myself, a perfect Christmas gift for anyone!

To Enter:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up until Sunday night (Dec. 12). Those who comment will be entered to win. Giveaways are U.S. only (sorry!) When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

As always, every name is thrown into a hat or in the case of huge entries…a bucket, and I’ll announce the winners on Dec. 12! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*What’s your all time favorite space-themed movie or T.V. show?

For example: Hands down for me is the T.V. show Battlestar Galactica.

16 thoughts on “Multiple Book Giveaway for Packing For Mars

  1. Star Trek, and I really want this book. I already own SPOOK and STIFF!

  2. I’m with Melissa A – it’s got to be Firefly (or Serenity) – great stuff!!!

  3. Jeff Bryant says:

    I was super impressed with “Moon” last year, but my all time favorite would have to be “Alien”, just because it made space terrifying. I still want to go someday.

  4. Grig says:

    Entry #4: Followed you on Twitter. (grig4)

  5. Grig says:

    Entry #3: joined your group on facebook. 🙂

  6. Grig says:

    Entry #2: Subscribed to your blog.

  7. Grig says:

    My favorite space-themed TV show is Stargate:Universe. A year or so ago I would have said it’s Firefly, but they only made a few episodes… SG:U is just as amazing, and it’s already on its second season. 🙂

  8. Great contest, Brittany! When I was little, I adored Mork and Mindy. It’s not exactly about space, but it’s close. 🙂

    This book looks like the perfect read for my dad, a.k.a. Astrowuss. You’ll see why if you check out his blog. 😉

  9. karenk says:

    email subscriber 🙂

  10. karenk says:

    does THE JETSON’S cartoon count?

  11. J.M. Lacey says:

    FYI…I tweeted for you.

  12. J.M. Lacey says:

    Favorite show would be “Star Trek,” especially “Next Generations.” Favorite movie is the classic: “Star Wars.”

  13. Krista says:

    I have a movie! ET!

  14. Melissa A says:

    Sounds fascinating.
    I have to recommend “Firefly.” That is the best show! It only lasted one year on Fox, but it’s become a cult classic. Nathan Fillion played a huge role on the show. It’s basically about cowboys in space. It’s funny, adventurous, sometimes romantic, intense, etc. I miss that show!

  15. Shannon says:

    I was so into space as a kid and my favorite movie was Spacecamp. I watched that over and over!

Leave a Reply

