Review of Memoir, To Have Not + Giveaway

When you have a child, you want to give them everything in the world and be able to show them all the world has to offer. But odds are when you were a child, there we’re times when you realized you didn’t have all the things everyone else had. And believe me, that can be quite a shock. For however rich or poor you are, there is always someone else who has more. Except if you’re Paris Hilton.

Some parents can give their kids all they need.

Some parents give them more than they should.

Some parents hit somewhere in the middle.

Some can’t give their kids much at all.

Kids are born in to a society built on have and have not’s. Frances Lefkowitz was a have not. Her memoir, To Have Not, is beautifully written as it examines the road to self-discovery and learning the hard truths that surround our world.

Frances was brought up in a poor family in the 1970s in San Francisco. Despite the odds, she found her way to the elite Brown University on a scholarship. But she soon finds out, she couldn’t leave poverty behind her. It shaped her. It commanded all her decisions as an adult.

One part in particular stands out to me from this memoir. Frances, her siblings, and newly divorced father spent all day shopping for Christmas presents. They needed everything from sweaters to shoes. But they piled their car high with gifts and kept shopping, trying to add a little bit to what they needed. They came back from one last store trip to find the car door open and all they’re newly bought gifts stolen.

Her father, stricken, tried to turn it in to a lesson for his children who sometimes themselves had stolen, on how they should live they’re life by saying, “You never know how hard your hitting someone.”

A gripping a true story that reflects on the hardships on society comes here in a turbulent economy. Everything costs more, jobs are few, and everyone is looking for ways to cut back. I can relate. You can relate. Your friends can relate.

This is one tale you shouldn’t miss out on!

*To Enter for a chance to win To Have Not:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (Feb.6). Those who comment will be entered to win. Giveaways are U.S. only (sorry!) When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winners on Feb. 7th! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*What was one of your childhood wishes?

For example: I wanted to have my own 101 Chihuahua farm…can you imagine which Disney movie gave me that idea?!

43 thoughts on “Review of Memoir, To Have Not + Giveaway

  1. lmcgeen says:

    To take care of animals for the rest of my life. ”
    lisasworldofbooks@charter.net

  2. Linda Kish says:

    I wished I could learn ballet. Never happened.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  3. Ms. Dawn says:

    By the time I was 6 years old, I wanted my mother to have a baby (preferably a sister) for me to play with). Knowing my mom couldn’t have anymore children, I was constantly praying for someone to leave one on our doorstep. Never happened!

  4. Ms. Dawn says:

    I Liked The Write Stuff on Facebook.

  5. Ms. Dawn says:

    I tweeted this contest. (@readitandeat)

  6. Tiffany S says:

    I am a facebook fan

  7. Tiffany S says:

    I realized you said seperate comments …. so my subscribe one is up top… this one is for twitter follow.

  8. Tiffany S says:

    As a child I always wished to have a big library in my house. I loved going to the library and reading and wanted that in my home. The wish has not left! I loved “The Velvet Room” and other books with secret hideaways, libraries and window seats….. ah, memories!

  9. I hosted a giveaway of this book as well, but was unable to enter my own giveaway! Thanks for giving me a chance!! ( :
    I have been a long time subscriber, I follow on Twitter @cozyreadersnook and I am a facebook fan as well

  10. Colleen Turner says:

    I am a Facebook friend (Colleen Turner).

  11. Colleen Turner says:

    I am an email subscriber.

  12. Colleen Turner says:

    When I was little I always wished I could learn to fly! I got the chance to go on a trip to Scotland when I was really young and just loved looking out the window and feeling like a bird. I thought, if I can only figure a way to do this WITHOUT the plane that would be really cool :).

  13. Krista says:

    I had always wanted to be a cheerleader!

  14. One of the things I always wanted to do when I was a kid when become a figure skater because they have so much grace and it looks so amazing and thrilling.

  15. karenk says:

    email subscriber and follower 🙂

  16. karenk says:

    i always wanted to the the organ 🙂

  17. Rahula says:

    I wanted to have all new clothes, no hand me downs.

  18. Nina says:

    Oh wow, on e of my childhood wishes! This took me back, and I confess took me awhile to think about! But, more than anything as a child I wanted a dog! I loved movies like 101 Dalmations, Beethoven, Homeward Bound, etc! I even would leave post-it notes all over my parents bedroom, briefcases, etc. that said “Get a dog!” (Eventually they caved! 🙂 I have seen this book pop up a lot lately, and it certainly seems like a great read!

  19. Michele says:

    I follow via twitter too.

  20. Michele says:

    I follow via facebook.

  21. Michele says:

    I can’t wait to read this book!

  22. Bobbi says:

    Hey Brit! Good review:) I wanted puppy and a barbie car!

  23. Tiffany D. says:

    Tweeted 🙂

  24. Tiffany D. says:

    I follow on Twitter 🙂

    http://twitter.com/#!/enterthedrew

  25. Tiffany D. says:

    I am an email subscriber 🙂

  26. Tiffany D. says:

    I wanted to have a farm too! Of course not with 101 chihuahuas, but still lol. I always wanted to have my own farm of cows and horses. Maybe some pigs too, and at least one St. Bernard. I just love them. But my biggest wish when I was a kid was to be an actress. But I am seriously shy, so that didn’t quite work out 🙂

Leave a Reply

