One Year Blog Anniversary + Giveaway

Stawberry goodness in every bite

Everyone eat cake! Today, I have dubbed the National Cake Day. Forget the calories, the cost, the fact that its freezing outside, and go get some cake so we can celebrate together. Exactly one year ago, I began this blog. I’m so excited to see how much my blog has grown and how many fabulous readers such as yourselves make it all worth while!

I’d like to take the time to share with you how it all started…

At the time, I was actually applying to law and business school if you can believe it. I was a year out of my bachelors degree and I wasn’t sure what career path I should take. I knew I loved writing…but I never considered it as a career. I started writing stories when I was a child and had continued to write as I grew. But coming from a family of mathematicians, engineers, business, and psychologists, I was urged to find a ‘real’ career and keep this whole artsy, writing thing a nice, little side hobby.

My family meant well! Many, many people I talked to and have met yearn to become an author but are certain as the sky is blue that its next to impossible to do. So, I attempted to find a new career for myself. No one in my family had ever been to law school and it seemed like a good title to add. I studied day and night for the LSAT for months. Then, I began to question my decision. Would I be really happy as a lawyer? Is anyone happy as one? Then I asked a key question that decided the future I had already chosen in my heart: Why not try to make it as a writer?

So, I began this blog with the goal in mind that I would interview as many authors as I could. I’d learn their stories, their tips to how to get published, and share them with everyone else. And I’d be able to giveaway books to other bookworms like me!

With each new interview, I began to know it was possible. I turned down law school and business school. My choice was simple. By taking a chance on my dreams, I was a local journalist for The Examiner as a Columbus Relationship Advice Expert. I had my first poem published in an online Fairy Tale Magazine. I created a killer blog, if I do say so myself! (woot, woot anyone?!)

I became a Betty Confidential Fan Blogger. My Blog, Chocolate Covered Chick Thoughts, was used to gab all about dating, love, and relationships but mostly celebrity break-ups! One of my favorite ones surrounded The Evolution of Date Night, I’d be honored if you checked it out.

I wrote my first young adult novel (despite two previous novella’s that will never be mentioned!). I moved on and became a Beauty and Fashion Freelance Writer for none other than…Betty Confidential, “Like your best friend but only better”!

Today, I saw my latest Betty article, 6 Hot Red Lipsticks Marilyn Monroe Would Love, on Yahoo Shine! I’m on Yahoo! I about died of joy when I say my up there in the byline.

I’m certain I made the right choice. This year has been a dream for me. My new dreams for coming year, you ask? Write another book. Keep writing fashion. Write, Write, Write…!

In honor of this fabulous, whirlwind year, I’m giving away a copy of Stephen King’s On Writing book which is just what any aspiring writer needs!

*To Enter for a chance to win On Writing:

Simply leave a comment!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (Feb.20). Those who comment will be entered to win. Giveaways are U.S. only (sorry!) When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Tell someone and have them comment here! (Make sure you have them point out they referred you!)

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winners on Feb. 21st! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!


40 thoughts on “One Year Blog Anniversary + Giveaway

  1. Congrats, Brittany!

    Your blog is absolutely fabulous. The interviews are AMAZING. You have done such a great job in so little time — you definitely deserve some cake! No need to enter me in the giveaway. (I own the book and love it.)

  2. MCGoodson says:

    I just found your blog through a writer friend. I am so eager to follow. I have a dear friend who has been writing a fantasy fiction story for several years now who says he only trusts his wife and me to read his work at this point. I’ve been studying the art of fiction writing as a means to support my friend. Okay, I’m starting to catch the bug as well. Looking forward to your posts!

  3. Congrats, Brittany — what a busy year you’ve had! 🙂 Keep fighting the good fight! 🙂

  4. Tom Bentley says:

    Brittany, big congrats on your blog getting out of the infant crib and for lighting the cake’s candles! Just avoiding having to write legal briefs (or not-so-briefs) is reason enough to whoop. Here’s to the another year of blog-o-fying.

  5. Kendra says:

    Congratulations Brittany!~

  6. karenk says:

    email subscriber 🙂

  7. karenk says:

    happy anniversary 🙂

  8. Gina says:

    YAY! Happy anniversary! and yay for Stephen King! He rules.

  9. danielle says:

    That cake looked so good. Congrats on one year. Keep it up.

  10. Nicole says:

    Congrats on your anniversary. I will most definitely eat cake in your honor — you don’t have to tell me twice. ;-p

  11. Kathryn says:

    Happy anniversary!

  12. jaynesgirl says:

    Congratulations on one year! It’s been a busy one for you, that’s obvious. I hope next year is as exciting with lots more success.

  13. Krista says:

    YAY! Congratulations! I am going to celebrate by eating a piece of cake for lunch!

  14. Congratulations! What an amazing year you’ve had. You inspire me!!

  15. Lale G says:

    Congratulations and thanks for an inspirational post! 🙂

  16. Happy Blogoversary! I just had mine last month, so I now how surreal it feels! 🙂 And thanks for the giveaway!

  17. Nina says:

    Congratulations to you! I so admire all that you have done and accomplished this past year! As someone who has also has her bachelors for a year but is still unsure of the path she is on, it is so comforting to see that you CAN turn things around and honor your passions. So hopefully this time next year I’ll have something to celebrate too! 😉 Haha.

    • That really means a lot to me! It is very hard after you leave college, the world looks the same as when you entered and didn’t know what to do–which no one tells you. I think it’s part of being generally confused that’s shared by all twenties newbies. You never know what’s around the corner though! I hope an awesome opportunity comes your way soon!

  18. Alicia says:

    Happy blogiversary! And congratulations on following your dream and making it work!

  19. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brittany Roshelle, Genna Sarnak. Genna Sarnak said: It's the One Year Blog Anniversary for @BrittRoshelle! Enter her Giveaway now: http://t.co/ssUkgq2 🙂 […]

  20. Amy says:

    Happy blogoversary!!

  21. Genna Sarnak says:

    Happy Blogoversary! I already have Stephen King’s On Writing, so I’m not going to enter, but I will still tweet it for you!

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

