Interview with Author Tish Cohen + Giveaway

Lila Mack is like most 20 year old’s struggling to find her real career passion in life. Except her life takes an unexpected turn when her estranged mother returns and informs her that the father in fact kidnapped her. Lila’s world begins to unravel as she tries to find out the truth about her past which is even more difficult as Lila’s father begins to struggle with Alzheimer’s Disease. However, Lila Muck must find out The Truth About Delilah Blue if she is ever to find herself. Tish Cohen is wonderfully creative author and here for an exclusive interview on The Write Stuff!

1) How long did it take you to publish your first novel?

It took about three years to publish my first novel. I’d already written three—two that were agented and shopped around, and one that I wrote and dropped. I did up a query letter and approached agents one by one. Thankfully, one finally took me on. But the book he signed me for didn’t sell, so my agent worked a full year and a half before a book sold.

2) You wanted to write a book since you were a little girl. Like many writers out there who are hesitant, what do you think held you back?

I didn’t feel I was special enough.

3) What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Develop your voice by reading everything you can get your hands on—even cereal boxes. Run dialogue in your head. Think about dialogue you hear—what do you love and what would you change.

4) What surprised you about the publishing industry when you became published?

That selling a book is just the beginning.

5) What makes it all worth it as an author?

Meeting readers and other authors. Not much tops that.

6) When you’re writing, what must you have next to you?

Chocolate and water.

7) What do you when you’re not writing?

I run, do yoga, and watch films.

8 ) You worked as an editor. How did that aide in your writing ability?

Working as an editor made me fall in love with playing with words.

9) Tell me about your latest book, The Truth About Delilah Blue:

The Truth About Delilah Blue is about a twenty-year-old art model who discovers everything she’d been told about her life is a lie.

10) Where did you get the idea for it?

I got the idea from an afternoon spent at my cousin’s place in the Hollywood Hills. I fell in love with the rustic house and wild, hideaway property and knew I had to set a story there.

11) What are a few of your favorite things?

I am obsessed with jeans, the more distressed the better. That goes for wooden furniture and leather as well. I love to ride horses and read.

*To Enter for a chance to win The Truth About Delilah Blue:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (Mar.13). Those who comment will be entered to win. Giveaways are U.S. only (sorry!) When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Tell someone and have them comment here! (Make sure you have them point out they referred you!)

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winners on Mar. 14! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*My birthday is coming up in two weeks and I have no idea what to do! What has been your favorite birthday so far and why?

For Example: So far it’s been my 22nd birthday. I got my hair cut short in a gorgeous angled bob, bought all new clothes, and all new make-up. I felt like a grown-up woman finally and not a little girl. And not to pull a Charlie Sheen but I did feel like a “a total rockstar” maybe not from Mars though… 😀


22 thoughts on “Interview with Author Tish Cohen + Giveaway

  1. Nancye Davis says:

    I posted this giveaway on my Facebook Wall

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/permalink.php?story_fbid=117978748277356&id=1590164998

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  2. Nancye Davis says:

    Tweet! Tweet!
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  3. Nancye Davis says:

    I follow you on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  4. Nancye Davis says:

    I became a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  5. Nancye Davis says:

    email subscriber

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  6. Nancye Davis says:

    Let’s see…..my favorite birthday….my 6th was awesome because my family threw me my one and only suprise party of my life!! I can remember that day like it was yesterday! I was so shy then! I hid behind my mom’s leg! 1976 was a great year!! No worries, carefree childhood, summers running around playing with friends barefooted, chasing lightening bugs, and coming in when it finally got dark at almost 10pm. Oh, to go back there, even if just for a little while to experience the magic of being a kid again.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  7. Bobbi says:

    Sounds like a great book! My favorite b-day was my last b-day. Ate cake opened presents and had a great dinner:)

  8. jen rabenstine says:

    Sounds like a great book!

  9. Linda says:

    I think I have had too many birthdays! My favorites are any number of them sharing mine with other family members and they are the best gifts.

  10. karenk says:

    i’m a follower…and email subscriber, too 🙂

  11. karenk says:

    I spent my 16th birthday at a camp for cheerleaders…it was a lot of fun 🙂

  12. Jane Cook says:

    My best birthdays were when I was between 10-14 or so. My birthday was near the end of the school year, so my mom let me have a sleep-over the last day of school for my ‘birthday’ party. Everyone came home with me on the school bus, and we’d fix snacks, listen to music, laugh, gossip, do make-overs, and generally keep mom up all night! Those were the only times I ever felt like I ‘belonged’ (I was the type that had one ‘best friend’) – my birthday parties were sort of an ‘in’ thing, and it was so exciting to me that girls actually accepted my invitations!

  13. Jane Cook says:

    and I follow on FB

  14. Krista says:

    I think my best birthday’s happened when I was between 8-11. They were always so exciting. My sisters and I would all dress up and take pictures. I was always so thrilled to have flowers, cake, and balloons. I always looked forward to those birthdays and they always meet my expectations 😀 Ah, life was so simple!

  15. Shannon says:

    and I follow on facebook and twitter and I retweeted but don’t know how to show it- I’m IandSsmom on there! So bad with computers! 😦

  16. Shannon says:

    Well it wasn’t my birthday but for my son’s 6th birthday we went to San Diego to the zoo and Sea World and it was just the best time ever! It was just the two of us and it was so great!

  17. Melissa says:

    Fan on Facebook, following on Twitter (as @chicklitcentral) and this will appear in my Winning Wednesday blog for March 9th.

  18. Melissa says:

    My 30th birthday was a blast. My husband and a close friend of mine threw a party for me. I knew I was having a party but the place and theme were surprises. It ended up being a Hawaiian theme. He put a picture of me on an ice cream cake.

  19. CBlaire says:

    Tish, Love your phrase “Playing with Words”..I do believe this describes what gives me the most joy in writing.
    Thirty was my fav. birthday- a turning point- leaving my twenties, realizing life marches on and it’s time to kick a$$, decide what I *really*wanted to accomplish in life, and DO IT!!

  20. Becky Walker says:

    I think my 25th birthday was the best so far…I became old enough to rent a car, which is pretty nice. My husband and kids were all there too and he threw a BBQ and invited friends and family over 🙂

  21. Tiffany S says:

    My 16th birthday was a huge suprise party at one of my favorite resturants. I will never forget it. It was also one of the only parties that didn’t get cancelled due to snow. That always sucked!

    I subscribe
    I follow via Twitter
    I am a memeber on FB

Leave a Reply

