Review of One Hundred Candles + Prize Pack Giveaway

All thanks to author, Mara Purnhagen, we’re giving away a Paranormal Prize Pack!

Prize Pack Includes: Signed copy of One Hundred Candles, a One Hundred Candles Bookmark and pen, and The Write Stuff Bookmark.

While One Hundred Candles is book 2 in a Past Midnight Young-Adult Book Series, it is a book that stands alone.

The novel starts off with Charlotte Silver. For a teenager whose parents are part of a ghost-debunking paranormal investigating team, she’s finally achieved a “normal” life. Or as close as she can get to it. Her parents finally settled into a house and she’s a senior in High School. She’s also managed to make a few close friends. Of course that tends to happen when you help a 100 year old ghost move on and solve a local school mystery like she did last year when she moved into town.

Charlotte is happy…until her parents drag her to an insane asylum over Christmas for work. That’s when Charlotte, who tends to be sensitive to ghosts, runs straight into an unseen evil force that physically inflicts harm on her. It tells her she’s gone to far. She’s seen too much and now she must pay.

The attack leaves Charlotte rattled and her parents, whom never fight, feuding day and night about what really caused it. Charlotte tries to shake off the bone-chilling warning she received and be a normal teen. She goes to a party run by a football star and reported admirer of hers. That’s when she runs into a a little game called, “One Hundred Candles,” made to unleash One Hundred Spirits. As if Charlotte didn’t have enough to be concerned over?

This book was intense. It had me on the edge of my seat from the beginning. While Past Midnight was light on the spook factor and the heavy issues, this book was not. Charlotte goes from being sweet kid to a mature young women looking for someone she can connect with. She’s being harassed by something worse than a demon and her parents are starting to avoid one another for the first time in their lives.

Mara Purnhagen did not just write a follow-up sequel. She brought on her full writing skills and turned the volume up to high. I loved this book and it pains me to wait on the incredibly tense cliff hanger left at the end of this book. Thankfully, the next book, Beyond the Grave, is out in one month!

Whether or not you’re already into the series, I guarantee you’ll love this book.

I also have some fabulous news for those of you who are already sucked into the series like me: Just like Stephanie Meyer, Mara published an electronic novella, Raising The Dead, that starts off right after Past Midnight and leads into One Hundred Candles! It’s perfect for those of us who hate the wait time in between books and desperately want to read more about the story. She also has another, Haunting the Night, that comes out in a few weeks and starts off right where One Hundred Candles ends.

Excuse me while I go download it…

*To Enter for a chance to win:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (July 17th). Those who comment will be entered to win. This giveaway is U.S. only–sorry! When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Tell someone and have them comment here! (Make sure you have them point out they referred you!)

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winners on July 18th! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*What was the last movie that truly gave you the chills?

For Example: Hands-down Paranormal Activity. I had no idea what the movie was about when my sister asked me if I had seen it. The second I shook my head, we went straight off to the movies. She wouldn’t tell me what it was about. It didn’t help that it also happened to be midnight on Halloween. Let’s just say I lost a few nights of sleep over it! 

Tagged , , ,

36 thoughts on “Review of One Hundred Candles + Prize Pack Giveaway

  1. Kelly says:

    OMG, I recently saw Insideous……It is absolutly terrifying! I’ve never screamed so much at a movie theater. You have got to see it Brittany

  2. Becky Walker says:

    Oh and I’m a facebook member 🙂 Thanks Brittany 🙂

  3. Becky Walker says:

    Hmm…I’d say Season of the Witch

  4. Linda Kish says:

    Dawn of the Dead…I don’t see movies very often anymore.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  5. April X says:

    I follow you on twitter @ramen_addict

  6. April X says:

    I like your fb page (April Xu)

  7. April X says:

    I’m an email subscriber!

  8. April X says:

    I honestly don’t watch scary movies lol… but I watched the Exorcism of Emily Rose or something like that, and it probably gave me chills *shudders*

    aprilxu2222@gmail.com

  9. Shannon J. says:

    twitter IandSsmom

  10. Shannon J. says:

    email subscriber!

  11. Shannon J. says:

    FB Shannon Johnson

  12. Shannon J. says:

    I subscribe to the blog! oh and love your new website -very nice!!

  13. Shannon J. says:

    I don’t watch scary movies so I’d have to go pretty far back. No wait there was a scary movie with Paul Walker I watched that freaked me out now to remember the name…ok The Lazarus Project. It was good but psych scary!

  14. My granddaughter and I would share this and have some quality time together.
    I’m a subscriber.
    I’m a member on facebook.
    Am sharing on facebook.

  15. […] you still have a chance to enter into a Paranormal Prize Pack Giveaway by simply commenting on my review of One Hundred […]

  16. Judy says:

    Has to be Paranormal Activity. Had a hard time sleeping for days after that one.

  17. Alison says:

    I tweeted the giveaway

  18. Alison says:

    I like you on Facebook

  19. Alison says:

    I follow on twitter – bfees2

    alison.fees@gmail.com

  20. Alison says:

    I subscribe to the email

    alison.fees@gmail.com

  21. Alison says:

    I have to agree that Paranormal Activity really creeped me out. I had a really hard time going to sleep that night. I love scary movies but for some reason that one really bothered me.

    alison.fees@gmail.com

  22. I follow you on Twitter: @PearlPM

  23. I’m an email subscriber!

  24. I liked you on FB: Perla Mendoza

  25. Hmmmmm…..movies these days don’t scare me. Like, at all. However, there was this one scene in The Roomate that had me whimpering. When the crazy girl killed that cute kitten. CRUEL!

  26. The last movie that gave me chills was The BlindSide (I don’t watch scary movies!)
    andreat78@yahoo.com
    I followed via email (andreat78@yahoo.com)
    I liked your FB page (Andrea Pierce Thompson)
    I followed on Twitter (@BookishAndrea)

  27. Krista says:

    I tweeted your giveaway!

  28. Krista says:

    I follow you on FB!

  29. Krista says:

    I am a subscriber!

  30. Krista says:

    The Amityville Horror in 2005, remake. I saw it at a drive-in theater and it was raining outside.

  31. Nicole P says:

    I think this book sounds great!! I’d love it!

    Last movie that gave me chills? What Lies Beneath

  32. karenk says:

    I’m an email subscriber 🙂

  33. karenk says:

    THE SHINING…many years ago.

Leave a Reply

