Interview with Author Lucie Simone + Giveaway

The fabulous author Lucie Simone is here to gab about her latest novel, let us in on why she choose to self-publish, and what tastes like Christmas in a cup!

Read on and enter for a chance to win her novel, Hollywood Ending!

1) How did you become a published author?

I tried to go the traditional route. After finishing (and revising and editing) my manuscript, I sent it out to 51 agents. And despite getting several requests, and lots of praise for my writing, my voice, and my story, no one bit. But I wasn’t ready to give up. So, I formed my own small press and published it myself!

2) That’s wonderful-why wait?! What has been your favorite author experience so far?

Honestly, just having my book published and available for others to read is pretty dang awesome. Seeing it go from a digital file on my computer to a cheery paperback in my hands was rather fantastic.

3) In contrast, were there any less than thrilling part of being an writer?

Rejection has to be right at the top. Really, no one wants to hear that the manuscript they’ve spent years crafting and revising and editing didn’t please someone. But, I’ve learned that it’s part of the process, and I try not to let it get to me. Having a stash of chocolate nearby is also handy at smoothing ruffled feathers.

4) What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Don’t give up. If you’re a writer, write. Don’t let rejections or bad critiques or writer’s block or lack of time or anything stop you from writing. And then I’d also add, focus on one project at a time and finish one project at a time. It’s easy to get discouraged and abandon your manuscript for something you think might be better. But I say finish it. Maybe it won’t be the one that you sell, but at least you’ve finished it. That alone is a major accomplishment.

5) That’s a great point. But what do you do when your trying to write and you need more motivation. 

I just sit and stare at the monitor until something comes. It usually does. It might take a few hours, and I might delete it all the next day, but at least I got words on the page. Writing is all about butt in the chair, fingers on the keys and words on the page. Without that, you got nothin’.

6) Tell me about your latest novel, Hollywood Ending

Hollywood Ending is a romantic comedy about life in Hollywood for the not-so-rich-and-famous. Trina Stewart is desperate to find a proper Hollywood job and finally quit teaching ESL, but after ten years in Tinsel Town, things are looking grim. That is, until she sets her sights on sexy new neighbor, Matiu Wulf, a New Zealander of Maori origin who is only in Los Angeles to get some scene design experience to beef up his resume, and then he’s headed back home to Auckland. He manages to thwart Trina’s advances, but when she falls under the spell of a toothy-grinned thespian, he’s desperate to win back her heart. But when Hollywood gets in the way, these two soon discover that life in Tinsel Town isn’t all red carpets, after parties and celebrity gossip. In fact, Hollywood can be a downright beeyatch!

7) I’m hooked! What is it really like living in Hollywood?

 I think Hollywood is a great place to live. It’s got a bit of a gritty aspect to it that probably surprises most tourists when they visit, but I think that’s what I like most about it. Shabby souvenir shops line the very same boulevard that hosts red carpet premiers and the annual Oscar awards. Lamborghinis zoom by while the downtrodden panhandle in front of Mann’s Chinese Theater. Celebrities get down and funky at posh nightclubs right next to the Greyhound Bus Depot where Hollywood hopefuls arrive daily. You never know what you might see or who you might meet in Hollywood, but I can guarantee you it won’t be dull!

8 ) Lol! Who has been your biggest influence?

In terms of writers, by far my biggest influence has been Marian Keyes. I really love her work! But truly it is my friends who have made the biggest impact on my writing. They’ve always supported me and believed in me even when I didn’t. And they sometimes end up influencing characters or situations in my stories.

9) Tell me more about you, what are a few things you can’t live without?

My friends, my cats, my phone, my computer, my yoga mat and my bike. I could probably live without chocolate, but I’d really miss it!

10) Every one knows how much writers love coffee and coffee shops. So I have to ask…what’s your favorite coffee drink?

I am that rare breed of writer that doesn’t drink coffee, but I do love a good chai latte now and then. It’s like Christmas in a cup!

*To Enter for a chance to win Hollywood Ending:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (August 7th). Those who comment will be entered to win. This giveaway is U.S. & Canada only! When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Like Health Daily Online on Facebook!

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winner on August 8th! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*What was your favorite memory this summer?

For Example: Moving back to Colorado. I couldn’t believe how much I missed the mountains and all of my family!

Tagged ,

22 thoughts on “Interview with Author Lucie Simone + Giveaway

  1. Kelly says:

    My favorite memory this summer was seeing my sister’s baby for the first time! It was really speacial and spending time wth my family. Great Interview.

  2. faith says:

    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  3. faith says:

    follow on twitter
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  4. faith says:

    follow on fb
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  5. faith says:

    Finishing both Summer classes early
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  6. faith says:

    i follow
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  7. Jeryl M. says:

    My favorite summer memories are vacations with my family when I was growing up, and now hanging out with my girls.

  8. Annie Rains says:

    My favorite summer memory so far is giving my two sons a birthday party in the park. One turned 3, the other 1. I loved watching them get excited over presents and cake, even if it was pouring rain and all the guests were soaking wet!

    Can’t wait to read the book!

  9. Nancy H says:

    I also follow on Twitter and FB!

  10. Nancy H says:

    I subscribe to your blog

  11. Nancy H says:

    My favorite memory this summer, so far, is visiting my mom. She is living in southern CO this summer, so my sister and niece and I all flew to Albuquerque, NM and drove up to CO. We had a wonderful week visiting Mom and exploring the area!

  12. Just wanted to pop in to wave to Brittany and Lucie — wonderful interview, ladies!
    Favorite summer memory? Seeing my son play chess in the park when we were in NYC ;).

  13. Georgina says:

    My favourite summer memory is vacations to France with my whole family – my parents, brother, aunts, uncles and cousins
    georginascott1989(at)hotmail(dot)com

  14. Melissa says:

    summer memory….
    seeing a friend from nyc on 4th of july. she spent the whole day with me and my family and we even got in some target time, which is rare for her because she lives in the big city. 🙂 it was so nice to hang out with her again!

    mbamster0720 at gmail dot com

  15. Melissa says:

    I posted your giveaway here
    http://chicklitcentraltheblog.blogspot.com/p/giveaways.html

    mbamster0720 at gmail dot com

  16. Melissa says:

    member on FB
    following on Twitter
    like health daily on FB

    mbamster0720 at gmail dot com

  17. Melissa says:

    I’m a subscriber (sung to the tune of “Survivor” by Destiny’s Child)
    mbamster0720 at gmail dot com

  18. Melissa says:

    This book sounds great! Count me in!
    mbamster0720 at gmail dot com

  19. Shana says:

    Ugh! I forgot to write my summer memory!

    This summer, my best friend and I had a truly memorable evening where we went to a fancy seafood restaurant here in NYC–we were treated like princesses.

    Shana
    shanaelyse@gmail.com

  20. Shana says:

    Ooh! I subscribe to your blog by email, too! 😉

    Shana
    shanaelyse@gmail.com

  21. My favorite memory this summer is playing in the pool with my grandsons, that’s what life is all about in my ‘book’ !!!!

  22. Shana says:

    This looks great! I hope to win!

    Shana S
    shanaelyse@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

