Little Black Dress Review + Giveaway

*Do you have a magical Little Black Dress? Enter for your chance to win a copy of the fabulous Susan McBride‘s latest novel, Little Black Dress!

Contest runs up to Sept. 1st!

Everyone has a Little Black Dress at home.

It makes you feel chic, confident, and full of life the moment you slip into it.

But what if you had one that also gave you a glimpse into your future?

That’s nuts, right? Totally crazy which is exactly what Toni believes when she starts to have visions of the future. Toni is an ambitious wedding planner, the type of girl who’s focused on planning everyone’s else happily ever after.

Of course, it’d be a tad easier setting up her happily ever after if she didn’t have a vision of her with another man. But how can you argue with a little magic black dress?

Toni’s life becomes entwined in a world where she sees a possible future laid out at her feet. But what can she do? What should she do?

These are all questions that her own mother, Evie, and her aunt, Anna, asked before. Evie and Anna found the dress together at a gypsy shop long ago. The night before Anna’s wedding, she wore the dress to her rehersal dinner where she saw a vision.

The next day she vanished. She left her sister, Evie, the calm one, to pick up her mess. She also left her stranded with the dress. Evie quickly becomes convinced the dress is more bad news than it’s worth and tries to it destroy by throwing it into a river. That’s when she’s also struck by a vision. Shocked by what she sees, she slips on the nearby rocks and almost drowns….only to be pulled up by handsome man who falls for her on the spot. The same handsome man from the vision.

The lives of two very different sisters, Evie and Anna, and one daughter, Toni, are brought together all by the fate of one dress. This one dress will expose family secrets, mistakes, and chances that each woman has made in love and in life.

Susan McBride has really outdone herself with this latest novel. Not only does it involve a killer fabulous plot, the book is told from two perspectives: Evie and Toni. You get to see a different world and time through both of their eyes. This alone makes the book incredibly captivation, which is why I had a hard time prying myself from it once I started reading!

In addition, the topics discussed will grip you to your core including love, loss, miscarriage, family dysfunction, and a never ending hope that there is something and someone out in the world who’s meant just for us.

*To Enter for a chance to win a copy of Little Black Dress:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (September 1st). Those who comment will be entered to win. This giveaway is U.S. only! When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winner on September 2nd! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*What’s has one woman, dear to you such as mother, sister, or friend, in your life taught you?

For Example: My mom taught me to always shoot for my dreams, no matter what. 

61 thoughts on “Little Black Dress Review + Giveaway

  1. Nancye Davis says:

    Tweet! Tweet!
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  2. Nancye Davis says:

    I follow you on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  3. Nancye Davis says:

    I follow/like you on Facebook

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  4. Nancye Davis says:

    email subscriber

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  5. Nancye Davis says:

    My mom always taught me to stand up for myself and to not let others people walk all over me.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  6. My daughter taught me how awesome the love of a child is again when she gave me grandchildren!

  7. Sarah hinhart says:

    to love and forgive

  8. Jeryl M. says:

    My mother taught me to speak up when necessary.

  9. C.Y says:

    I’ve subscribed to your blog, and to your FB. 🙂

  10. C.Y says:

    My friend taught me how important it was to feel the hearts of those who truly cared for me and not blindly look for those who doesn’t.

  11. Linda Kish says:

    My mother taught me to live by the Golden Rule.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  12. Charity Hastings says:

    My mom taught me that being close to your family is the most important thing in life. You need each other more than you sometimes realize.

  13. Kelly says:

    *What’s has one woman, dear to you such as mother, sister, or friend, in your life taught you?
    My dear friend Sandy taught me that despite whatever challenges I may have to over come or what people might think of me, I can do anything.

  14. kyfaithw says:

    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  15. kyfaithw says:

    follow on twitter. And the last comment should have said I subscribe to this blog

    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  16. kyfaithw says:

    i follow on fb
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  17. kyfaithw says:

    i follow this blog
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  18. kyfaithw says:

    Do not lie!
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  19. Alison says:

    I follow on Twitter – bfees2

  20. Alison says:

    I follow on Facebook

  21. Alison says:

    I follow the blog through email

  22. Alison says:

    Never give up…..Ever!

  23. tawnya says:

    Followed on twitter…

  24. tawnya says:

    Liked on Facebook

  25. tawnya says:

    Don’t regret things. Learn from them and move on.

  26. I posted your giveaway on the profile page of my Facebook page:

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=1802916392

  27. I follow you on Twitter as Carolee888.

  28. I am a member of Facebook: The Write Stuff.

  29. I am an e-mail sunscriber.

  30. Carol Wong says:

    My grandmother was always quoting famous books and literature and one of her favorites was ‘Les Miserables”. She spoke about the man being sent to prison for stealing a loaf of bread. To me, that means the things are not always black and white. You have to look at the reason for the actions. This meant a lot to me. She was very poor but she always knew what was important in life.

  31. Jessica says:

    My mom always said, “If you don’t ask, the answer is always no.” What have you got to lose?

  32. Kathy Sergy says:

    my sisters who taught me that life may knock you @ your knees but to keep getting up!

  33. Connie Williamson says:

    I like “The Write Stuff” on Facebook.

  34. Connie Williamson says:

    My mom taught me not to worry about money. She said, “You’ll get some more”. In fact, she said that about everything you might have lost or need more of. “You’ll get some more.” I live by that. 🙂 And boy, do I ever miss her.

  35. karenk says:

    i’m a subscriber 🙂

  36. karenk says:

    ‘always treat others as you would like to be treated’

  37. Tiffany Drew says:

    Tweeted

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  38. Tiffany Drew says:

    Shared on Facebook

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  39. Tiffany Drew says:

    I follow you on Twitter as @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  40. Tiffany Drew says:

    I am a Facebook member 🙂

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  41. Tiffany Drew says:

    I am an email subscriber 🙂

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  42. Tiffany Drew says:

    My daughter has taught me that there is always something to be positive about. Even when everything seems like it is falling down around us, that girl just has the best, most positive attitude I have ever seen. She wakes up every morning with a big smile on her face and things that would upset anyone else just bounce right off of her.

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  43. Michele W. says:

    i subscribe to the blog

  44. So sorry by accident I posted twice where I shared the contest on my FB wall, my bad 😦 I so so want to read this book! Love the cover, love Susan McBride! I also majored in event planning and would luv to plan weddings, just like Jennifer Lopez does in “The Wedding Planner.”

    I have learned such great and wonderful pieces of advice from many women in my life. My mother has taught me to treat others the way they want to be treated. The following is the “Golden Rule” that is expressed in the Bible: “”Treat Others As You Would Like To Be Treated”

  45. I subscribe to you blog

    amyrbrombergatgmaildoctom

  46. i follow The Write Stuff on Facebook!

  47. Both of my grandmothers taught me to cook…and I get a lot of compliments, so they must have done a good job! would love to read this book!

  48. Michele W. says:

    I follow via twitter

  49. Michele W. says:

    I follow via facebook

  50. Michele W. says:

    My mother taught me to stand up for my self and not to let people walk all over me!

  51. Shannon J. says:

    and twitter- IandSsmom

  52. Shannon J. says:

    follow on FB!!

  53. Shannon J. says:

    I subscribe to the blog!!

  54. Shannon J. says:

    Wow my mom taught me to be independent and to love unconditionally!! I miss her alot!! 😦
    I’ve wanted to read this book! I love the cover and it just sounds like a really great book!!

Leave a Reply

