Learn Author Bethany Ramos’s tips on writing Fiction and Freelance!

Debut Author Bethany Ramos is hear to share all her tips on writing fiction and working as a freelance writer! Check out my interview with her and be sure to check into her fabulous chick lit novel, 5 Stages of Grief!

1)When did you decide to pursue a career in writing, was it always a dream or interest of yours? 

I decided to pursue a career in writing three years ago. I was working in laser hair removal as an aesthetician, and I decided that I wanted to write on beauty and health instead of doing it hands-on. My career spiraled from there. I started writing on a variety of topics and began pursuing fiction writing.

2) Congratulations on pursuing and achieving your dreams! You’re also a freelance ghostwriter? How exactly does that work?

I work through Elance.com, where I bid on freelance writing jobs on an individual basis. I can take on as many or as few jobs as I want and am paid individually by each client. It keeps me really busy since I’m working with multiple clients at one time!

3) Thanks for the tip! So how did you become a published author?

I decided to start pursuing fiction writing because I love chick lit. After I finished my manuscript a year ago, I started sending it out to hundreds of agents and publishers, until I finally got some interest.

4) You also have a children’s book coming out! How is that process different or similar to publishing women’s lit?

My children’s book idea was totally random, but I decided to pursue it because it was an interesting idea. And it helped me break into the publishing industry and better understand how literary agents and publishers work. The children’s book publishing process is similar to women’s fiction publishing – except it’s much more competitive.

I sent out my manuscript to hundreds of agents and publishers, until I finally found a small publisher that was interested. I was just happy to have any interest because it is a very competitive industry.

5) It’s hard for me to find time to write both as a freelance and fiction writer. How do you make time for all your avenues of writing? Is it difficult for you as well?

It can be difficult to make time for my personal writing career – i.e. fiction, since ghostwriting is paying the bills. I try to write a little bit when I can, especially on the weekends. I’m working on my second novel now.

6) Tell me all about your debut chick lit novel, 5 Stages of Grief

This book came from the idea of what it would be like to find out that someone had cheated on you after they had died. It sounds a bit morbid, but there’s nothing sad or depressing about the book at all. It’s supposed to poke fun at the whole grieving process. The book contains a bunch of details from my life when I was living in Denver and experiencing the whole dating scene.

7) That sounds hilarious and I just love Denver! CO is my favorite state. So…is there any relevance to real life?

The idea came to me randomly, but the book is full of personal life experiences based on all the weirdos I’ve dated. 😉 In retrospect, it’s funny, but at the time, it was pretty stressful!

8 ) Lol! So who do you draw your inspiration from as a writer?

I love to read chick lit, so that’s my main inspiration. I believe you have to read much more than you write if you want to be any good. I love chick lit authors like Emily Giffin, Marian Keyes, and Candace Bushnell.

9) What tips do you have to give aspiring writers?

My biggest tip is to stick with it! You have to be willing to start out small and get the ball rolling before you have any hope of doing something bigger.

10) We want to know more! Tell me 5 random facts about yourself:

Hmm…

  1. I’m not very good at typing. I actually use voice recognition software instead!
  2. My husband is my best friend from high school.
  3. Weird claim to fame – I have worked as a makeup artist and did makeup on a shoot for one of the Dallas Cowboys.
  4. My husband and I also own an e-commerce business that sells coffee and espresso products, The Coffee Bump.
  5. I make really awesome homemade sushi.

11) And finally…Everyone knows how much writers love coffee…so I have to ask, what’s your favorite coffee drink?

Haha, funny you should ask. I’m obsessed with the Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks!

No. Way. I’ll be drinking that same drink until the season is over! It’s my all time fav, except in the off season when I get a 1/2 white mocha 1/2 vanilla iced latte!

Thanks for stopping by The Write Stuff!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Learn Author Bethany Ramos’s tips on writing Fiction and Freelance!

  1. kyfaithw says:

    Pumpkin Spice Latte’s make the world go around!!! Great interview. That’s so sweet her husband is her best friend from high school

Leave a Reply

