Read an Excerpt from Bonjour 40: A Paris Travel Log!

*Come back tomorrow to read my review of Bonjour 40: A Paris Travel Log (40 years, 40 days, 40 seconds) and have a chance to win a 5×7 print of one of Karen’s professional pictures of Paris from her book! 

Until then, here is a fabulous excerpt you can read to learn more about Karen A. Chase’s adventure in Paris during the month of her 40th birthday:

Day 17 ~ May 7

“This is the first time in a couple of years that I’ve traveled alone, without Ted, family, or a friend. It has its advantages at times. I’ve been enjoying my time to write until the wee hours, sit in parks with a book, fiddle with samples in makeup stores, or contemplate my forty-year-old pores in the mirror. When I really feel I am alone (aside from at night in the bedroom) is while seeing new things and during meals in restaurants. I like to share in experiences, and so I find myself wanting to grab Ted’s arm and point at things. When I laughed at a comment on a museum tour, the woman next to me did not find it as funny as he would have. When I go out to eat, I do miss him more. When it comes to sharing food, Ted and I simply cannot help ourselves, and we’ll often stab at each other’s plates to experience twice as much. Alone though, waiters always look behind me to see whom I’m with before they seat me. “Juste moi,” I’ve come to say. Sometimes, it brings enough pity I get a great table, and extra nice service (or a flirtation or two). Once, it got me a crappy table next to the silverware and drink station, which resulted, literally, in clean knives being thrown over my head into the bin.”

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Read an Excerpt from Bonjour 40: A Paris Travel Log!

  1. Lisa Steinke says:

    Love Paris! This book makes me want to go back again- now!

  2. wordsbymei says:

    thats my dream…to be travelled alone just me and my bag pack!!:))

Leave a Reply

