Review of Bonjour 40: A Paris Travel Log + Picture Giveaway

*Read my review of Bonjour 40: A Paris Travel Log (40 years, 40 days, 40 seconds) and enter for have a chance to win a 5×7 print of one of Karen’s professional pictures of Paris from her book! 

There are a few key moments in our lives: learning how to drive, graduating from high-school, turning 21….and turning 30 and 40.

Karen A. Chase turned her 40th birthday into celebration. She spent 40 days in Paris, sampling the food, immersing herself in the culture, and living life to its fullest in the City of the Lights. While she was there, she chronicled her adventures and vivid photography into a diary-like memoir as she reflected on her journey.

As a reader, I feel in love with Bonjour 40. Here’s why:

*For starters, the book is a quick read but the content didn’t feel rushed at all. In fact, it’s the authors ability to be so succinct with her emotions and details that makes this book so fabulous. I felt as though I experienced her journey without feeling like it took me 40 days to read it.

*The big 4-0 can seem downright Halloween scary but what I loved about Karen’s approach is her confidence. Because it is her 40th birthday, her status that she’s worked hard to achieve allows her to indulge into a month-long adventure worthy of anyone’s bucket list. As I read, it made my own heart yearn to live my own dreams…but at the same time, I felt at ease. I can have a breath-taking adventure at any point in my life.

*Karen addresses everything one would expect to come up in a big-travel trip from panicking before setting off, struggling to speak and learn French, feeling the thrill of a whole new world just when you thought you knew it all, refreshing your brain with some much-needed “me” time, and still feeling a tad lonely here and there.

*Her pictures made the book. It put me there as a reader. I loved seeing the Eiffel Tower and couldn’t stop my mouth from watering by simply looking at all the decadent French foods.

*Anyone who loves to travel or even dreams of traveling will love this book. It is a must-read! Click here to purchase your copy or add it to your Xmas wish-list! 

To enter for have a chance to win a 5×7 print of one of Karen’s professional pictures of Paris from her book:

*Take a good look at the picture to the left, that’s the one you’ll be winning! Then, simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (October 30th). Those who comment will be entered to win. This giveaway is U.S. only. When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winner on October 31st! Once contacted, the winner will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*What’s an item on your bucket-list?

For Example: Visit Napa Valley in CA!

Tagged , ,

8 thoughts on “Review of Bonjour 40: A Paris Travel Log + Picture Giveaway

  1. Ashley says:

    Really enjoyed this review! Joining the Peace Corps is on my bucket list because I get to be philanthropic AND travel the world. Win-win. And I just started following you on twitter (ashleytangerine) because that picture is gorgeous!

  2. Laura Reese says:

    Italy, also! (Great Giveaway, BTW!)

    Following on twitter! @LaurenClark_Bks

  3. karenk says:

    my bucket list…visiting Charleston, SC

  4. Laura Kay says:

    I following you on facebook!

    Laura Kay
    anovelreview(at)yahoo(.)com

  5. Laura Kay says:

    I’m following you on twitter (anovlereview1)

    Laura Kay

  6. Laura Kay says:

    Go to Hawaii.

    Laura Kay

  7. Sheila Drury says:

    to take a cruise to Alaska, I’m over 50 and have never been on a cruise or to Alaska, so this could accomplish 2 things at once. I’ll be sure to bring along some good books to read up on the deck!

  8. Jane Cook says:

    My major bucket list item is an extended trip to Italy. I can’t even imagine how long I’d have to stay to see all that I want to see….forever, maybe?

    Thanks for the fantastic review, and this great giveaway!

Leave a Reply

