How to Achieve a Solid Writing Schedule! It’s not a Sprint, It’s a Marathon

This is something I struggle with daily as a writer. Most days I write freelance articles which can zap my energy to write any sort of fiction. The less fiction I write, the more guilty I feel and as luck would have it with any form of self-deprecation, the less I write! It’s a beautiful little cycle of non-productivity.

The true victim? The pages that remain blank, devoid of creative thought.

How many words a day constitute a success? Should I try and force myself to write a 1,000 fiction words a day without any regard to errands, deadlines, phone calls, sleet or snow? Or worse, running out of espresso? Or would say…200 words still be good as long as I just keep writing? Honestly, it doesn’t matter what my word count is I always feel better, more alive when I write fiction. Any fiction, even a writing prompt. But I never know how to feel about my daily word count none the less! If I haven’t written a best-seller by dinner, a part of me feels like I should just give-up.

That’s because there is a belief out there that writing is a sprint. You need to write the best novel you can fast and get it out there. I think it’s because the excitement and expectations that come naturally with writing. You’re so excited to become the next J.K. Rowling that you just can’t stand waiting any longer. 😉

But as author of The Darling Budds, Johnny Dale see’s it: It’s not a Sprint, It’s a Marathon. You should take away the guilt and start slowly, instead of running head-first into impossible deadlines.

After struggling to develop a good writing schedule for almost a decade, he’s created a website to share his insight. Check out his website to learn how to achieve a Solid Writing Schedule Today!

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “How to Achieve a Solid Writing Schedule! It’s not a Sprint, It’s a Marathon

  1. Jenny says:

    I really like his concept. It’s an interesting idea.

    That said, I’m simply not a daily writer. There are days when I am able to do nothing but write. But some days, no matter how hard I try, I don’t have the time to get the writing in. I never judge by word count–some days I write well, and some, well, I don’t.

    I prefer Hemingway’s method: “I learned never to empty the well of my writing, but always to stop when there was still something there in the deep part of the well, and let it refill at night from the springs that fed it.” I try to stop in the middle of something, as hard as that may be. Then the next time, I’m excited and eager to get back to the writing because I’m not wondering, “What the heck comes next?” I pick up in the middle of the scene where I left off.

    • Love the quote! Writing is so diverse for everyone, for some it’s better to keep going daily and for others its best to not push it when it doesn’t feel right. Thanks for commenting and sharing your insight!

  2. Great advice! If you push yourself too hard, you loose the best part of the journey.

Leave a Reply

