Book Giveaway + Learn How T.V. Producer, Daisy Goodwin, became an Author!

*Author and T. V. producer, Daisy Goodwin, is here to tell us all about her novel and how she became an author!

*Read on to enter for your chance to win a copy of her novel, The American Heiress!

 –Giveaway ends Nov. 13th.–

1) Tell me all about how you got started in TV?

I joined a training scheme at the BBC and got my first break making a documentary about Raymond Carver.

2) Wow! What’s a typical day like for you as a mother, author, and TV producer?

Hectic.  On a good day I wake up really early, do a couple of hours writing before sending my youngest daughter off to school and then heading to my office.  It doesn’t often work out like that though.  I usually end up writing at weekends. I am too shattered when I get back from work and I need to preserve my mental energy so I can help Lydia with her homework.

3) A great mom and a great writer! In fact, you’re an author to numerous poetry books. So I have to ask….what do you love the most about poetry? 

I love poetry for the way that it crystallises the emotions that we cannot put into words ourselves – Coleridge called poetry, ‘the right words in the right order’.  I can’t write poetry myself, but I find it invaluable when I am going through any kind of strong emotion.  It’s cheaper than therapy!

4) What steps did you have to take to get a book of poetry anthology published?

I actually made a tv programme called the Nation’s Favourite Poem and it was such a hit that we published an anthology of Britain’s 100 favourite poems, which has sold nearly a million copies .  After that I found it quite easy to get 101 Poems that Could Save Your Life published.

5) That’s amazing! So when did you decide to write your first book?

My first book was a memoir, Silver River, which has a long section set in nineteenth century Argentina.  I found writing about the past mush easier than writing about the present, so I decided to write a historical novel.

6) Tell me about your fabulous debut novel, The American Heiress

It is the story of Cora Cash, a rich beautiful American who marries into the British aristocracy at the end of the nineteenth century.  It is a story of American innocence and European wordliness, New World money and Old World tradition.

7) Where did you get the idea?

I was walking round Blenheim Palace and I saw a painting of Consuelo Vanderbilt who married the 9th Duke of Marlborough in 1895.  She was very beautiful and clearly very unhappy and I thought that is good territory for a novel.

8 ) What’s the main message at the heart of your novel?

Money distorts all human relationships, and it takes great humanity to adjust for this.  Cora starts the book thinking that her fortune can solve all problems but by the end she knows better.

9) Are you working on anything new? Can we have any hints?!

Working on a book about the Last Empress of Austria, Elizabeth and her passion for hunting in England where she meets a young cavalry officer called Bay Middleton….

10) I wish I could hear more! Last but not least, everyone knows how much writers love coffee…so I have to ask, what’s your favorite coffee drink?

It is very British of me but I drink masses of tea – English Breakfast in the morning, Earl Grey in the afternoon.  I am really fussy – will only drink loose leaf tea made in a tea pot.

If I need the extra jolt of coffee, I tend to order a flat white.

Thanks for stopping by The Write Stuff!

*To Enter for a chance to Win a Copy of The American Heiress:

Simply leave a comment answering the following bolded question!

Rules for this contest:

*You can enter anytime from right now up to Sunday (Nov. 13th). Those who comment will be entered to win. This giveaway is U.S. and Canada only–sorry! When you comment, you will be asked for your email address. This information will not be made public. It will only be used to contact the winner. You must provide your name.

For additional entries and chances to win:

*Subscribe to this blog!

*Become a member on Facebook: The Write Stuff

*Follow me on Twitter

*Twitter, Facebook, or Blog about the contest (you must provide a separate comment that you did this with a link).

Every name is assigned a random number. The more you enter, the more numbers are assigned to your name. The range of numbers is put into a Random Number Calculator and the winning number is chosen! I’ll announce the winners on Nov. 14th! Once contacted, the winners will have three days to email me their mailing addresses. If I do not receive a reply within the allotted time, I will pick another winner. Good luck!

*What are your plans for Thanksgiving?

For Example: Now that my husband and I are back in CO near family, we’ll probably be attending 2 Thanksgivings. Therefore, we won’t be cooking our feast this year! But I’m going to miss that dearly!

Tagged ,

33 thoughts on “Book Giveaway + Learn How T.V. Producer, Daisy Goodwin, became an Author!

  1. Nancye Davis says:

    FB Post
    FB ID: Nancye Epperson Davis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  2. Nancye Davis says:

    I Tweeted!
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  3. Nancye Davis says:

    I follow you on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  4. Nancye Davis says:

    I like you on Facebook

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  5. Nancye Davis says:

    email subscriber

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  6. Nancye Davis says:

    I am not a coffee drinker. Yuck!! Hot chocolate all the way!

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  7. Liked on FB under Qué Mini-Mite Banh

  8. I follow on Twitter under @OneLuckyElf

  9. I’m Canadian & we already had our Thanksgiving. We spent it at home, a nice dinner with family followed by an evening of movies. We like to keep things simple, it is the company & time spent together that is most important.

    Que (hainam AT shaw DOT ca)

  10. Lethea B says:

    I follow you via twitter as Luvdaylilies

  11. Lethea B says:

    I prepare Thanksgiving Dinner in our home & we have family over. We cook, eat and chat throughout the day, fun!

  12. Nancy H says:

    And, on Twitter…

  13. Nancy H says:

    I follow you on Facebook…

  14. Nancy H says:

    My husband and I will be traveling to my sister’s house to spend Thanksgiving with her, her family and my Mom. I cannot wait!

  15. Krista says:

    I follow you on Twitter!

  16. Krista says:

    I follow you on facebook!

  17. Krista says:

    I am a subscriber!

  18. Krista says:

    My Husband and I will attempt our first Thanksgiving dinner together!

  19. kyfaithw says:

    follow on twitter kyfaithw
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  20. kyfaithw says:

    I follow on fb
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  21. kyfaithw says:

    Probably go to my mom’s house for lunch/dinner.
    kyfaithw at aol dot com

  22. Cynthia Wong says:

    i ‘liked’ The Write Stuff FB page…..

  23. Cynthia Wong says:

    i subscribe to this blog!!!

  24. Cynthia Wong says:

    my plans for Thanksgiving are to EAT, enjoy the time w/my family & FOOTBALL!!!

    thank you for this giveaway!!!

  25. tawnya says:

    I’m a twitter follower.

  26. tawnya says:

    We spend the day in our sweats at my sister’s eating and playing board games. Perfect!

Leave a Reply

