Writing Distractions + Inspirations…can it get any better?

*Don’t forget to enter for your chance to win, The American Heiress! Contest ends this Sunday, Nov. 13th. 

If you’ve ever worked from a computer, you know what I mean when I say it’s a struggle to avoid surfing the internet…rather aimlessly most some days.

This is how my day went yesterday:

8:30 a.m. Check twitter, facebook, email, celebrity news….

9:30 a.m. write.

9:31 a.m. Check the daily news, you never know…Zombies may have attacked for all I know since I’ve been gone a minute from my precious World Wide Web.

10:30 a.m. Rinse with espresso and repeat morning again.

It can be a vicious cycle. Sometimes a cupcake or form of chocolate finds its way into my scedule as well:

11:00 a.m. Ransack pantry for anything containing chocolate and check to see if Justin Bieber fathered any new children since I last checked the rumor mill.

As I’ve been struggling to stay productive, I stumbled across this hilarious list, Top 10 Writing Distractions from Meredith Jaeger’s blog, The Trouble with Twenty-two. Its scary how close my own list is! What do you think? What are your biggest distractions when it comes to work?

While reading it and multitasking on 5 internet tabs, I also stumbled across a perfect Writer Cartoon (uploaded from Google+ and you can click on the image to get a bigger picture). It’s funny b/c it’s absolutely true. Many short stories end that way. Write well this Friday and prosper at any rate!

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Writing Distractions + Inspirations…can it get any better?

  1. Meredith Jaeger says:

    Thanks for checking out by blog! I’ve heard of some writers who go to coffee shops with no internet to work, but I can’t imagine it. I can’t start my day without checking to see if Bieber has fathered any children, or if Kim is still hated by the public. (I have problems, I know). Good luck writing! I’ve made it to page 110 of my 2nd novel now, so slowly but surely I am doing some writing 🙂

    • Congratulations on your 2nd novel!! Your distraction post was too funny–I had to include!

      Glad to know I’m not the only one with the same distractions, especially when it comes to celeb gossip! Lol–poor Kim!

  2. Krista says:

    LOL! Staying on task can be so challenging 😀

Leave a Reply

