Falling Off The Writer and Blogging Wagon

It’s been a while since my last post! I could tell you that I got wrapped up in Christmas and New Years or that my husband and I moved to a new city and I just finished unpacking….but I could have made time to blog if I’d really pushed it.

The truth is that I fell off the writer and blogging wagon.  You sort of run around as a writer and shout, “Write! Write! Write!“…and then there are patches were nothing comes. Since I began writing freelance, it hasn’t been an exception. It’s been a struggle to find creativity left over at the end of the day to blog or write for fun. Writing has always been my hobby but once I added different companies to write for during the week, it became “my work day,”…and turning back to writing when I have time off from my deadlines is harder than I thought it’d be.

Which is a cycle every writer falls into and I’d have to say it’s hard. The more I don’t write creatively without boundaries, the harder it is to write, and the longer I abstain….the more guilty I feel and the less I write outside of my work. The less I write, the more I worry I about my ability to write. I felt guilty about taking an unannounced break from blogging (I love this blog!) and my contests. I’ve been avoiding editing the book I wrote, wondering if I should just start over and give up. My cooking blog is on hiatus from our 2 recent moves, we kind of dropped the ball.

But in end all you can do as a writer or anything in life is hop back on the wagon and start shouting, “Write, Write, Write!” You can’t let your own shame or self-doubt get the best of you or burn-out either.

If you any of you out there have any tips on how to juggle your passions with work (writing or not), I’m all ears. Here’s to breaking the spell and getting back to writing and my goals…..and to stopping playing solitaire.

Tagged ,

9 thoughts on “Falling Off The Writer and Blogging Wagon

  1. Kelly says:

    Burn out is no fun. Sometimes you just need a break. Since you write for a living its not easy for you to get away. You’ll be back into your groove after you have had time to adjust:)

  2. Tom Bentley says:

    Brittany, I fight this one a lot, since I’m a business writer (and freelancer) at the computer all day, so it’s easy to become fatigued and say “Tomorrow, I write” while tomorrow gets further away. I’m not always successful, but I do find if I get a daily alarm to “work on novel” at a certain time, I DO work on the novel then, because I tell myself it’s just a half-hour and I know I can return to my obligations.

    That half-hour often becomes more (bonus!), but even if I only get in a few half-hours in the week, it is real writing and it’s cumulative. And weirdly enough, sometimes writing fiction is energizing or restorative. Not always, but sometimes. Good luck!

  3. You’re not alone, Brittany! I don’t have a solution, but I can sympathize. Since my work is at the computer (mostly web design right now, but also freelance writing), I tend to avoid sitting at the computer when I’m not “working.” Blogging is the first thing to go. (Not helpful, perhaps, but honest!)

  4. I have recently jumped back into the writing-world, myself, and I’m pretty sure the feeling is universal when it comes to creativity of any sort. I fight constantly with a nagging voice in my head (The guy from Happy Gilmore is a perfect representation, “You suck, you jackass.”) but in the end it’s always my better judgment that wins the battle. It is a battle, however. Just last night I came across a sentence that wouldn’t come out the way I wanted it to. After 20 mins dwelling on the damned thing that nagging voice kicked in and the fight was imminent. It didn’t last long, and the more time I spend back in that writing mode, the less time I spend fighting myself. I guess all I’m saying is that the longer you spend back on the wagon, the easier it will get. Keep it up, Brittany. We are all here to support you.

  5. Krista says:

    This cycle happens to me with my work and I’m an engineer. Don’t feel bad, everyone bouts of low productivity 🙂

Leave a Reply

