The Write Stuff is Changing!

As I look back at the year 2011, it has flown by much too quickly…and while I have accomplished a lot, there are things I still haven’t finished.

As a writer who’s seeking publication, one of the first things you hear is to get a blog. It’s looks wonderful to publishers, it gets your name out there, and it gets you into the habit of writing. Now that I’ve had this blog for two years, I can honestly say it’s all true.

My blog is what pushed me to start writing on a regular basis. I’ve interviewed dozens of authors and discovered invaluable tips. It’s the reason I actually wrote my 1st complete novel, a dream I had since childhood. It’s what has connected me to other book lovers, writers, authors, and even publishers.

I’ve met a whole host of wonderful people and I can’t tell you how much each and every comment I’ve received means to me. All and all, it’s been a ton a fun. But, I didn’t set out to have the most famous blog ever or run this website like a mini-empire even if I secretly want to...in fact it’s like The Ring in Lord of The Rings…it’s My Precious, my sweet. The more I multitask to meet all my deadlines at hand from freelance work and establish new interviews for this blog, I end up looking more and more like Smegal with my husband urging me to let go of the keyboard and go outside for some sunlight.

As fun as blogs are they can be quite distracting and I don’t just want to be someone who interviews authors or reads and reviews their books and leaves the dream with them. I want to be that author instead.

So, I’ve decided to change up my blog. While it’s been a source for author interviews, the 411 on new books, and a host of giveaways in the past, I want to focus solely on writing for a period of time.

That means I’ll be blogging about writing, my journey as I pursue my dream to become an author, any new books I read on writing, tips I find for writers, any writer events I attend, how my book editing is going, if I’m writing something new—pretty much anything that serves to help me actually keep creatively writing everyday and helps other writers accomplish their dreams too!

Tagged

6 thoughts on “The Write Stuff is Changing!

  1. Kelly says:

    WOW! I loved your previous blog design and its new look is clean and sophisticated. Nice touch. Thank you for interviewing so many authors on your blog. I enjoyed learning about their experiences through their journey as authors and I am looking forward to reading your new posts!

  2. nicolepyles says:

    Great job! Good for you! I underwent a change as well for my blog and I decided to not talk about writing anymore. I didn’t want to overanalyze myself anymore! I am now writing entertainment based posts…I’ll even do the occasional book review (but nothing that takes me out of my regular reading habits) and I’ll update my writing progress! It’s all about focusing on your goals! So good for you for taking the plunge!

  3. Krista says:

    I can’t wait to read about your journey on becoming an author!

Leave a Reply

