A Tribute to My Mother

 

100_37111.jpg

In the last year and a half since I stopped blogging, a lot of changes have happened, some incredible (I became a mom!), others heartbreaking (my mother was diagnosed with lung cancer–after a year of battling it, she passed away last week).

My world was thrown–and I’m not just talking about the crazy pregnancy hormones that made me feel like Goofy for nine months 🙂

I can’t describe the heartache of becoming a parent right as you are losing your parent.

As a tribute to my mother, I picked up the writing pen I dropped when life picked up its pace fast.

Here is the poem I wrote for my beautiful mom, Linda Kumley–who in addition to being my world, always supported my writing career and encouraged me to shoot for my goals. I love you mom!

mom

 

We knew our mother was not one bound for this world;

She was an angel sent here from God to care and deliver 5 beautiful souls.

Her bouncing babies were her life’s goal; ones whom she poured all of her heart and soul.

She was our pillar, our rock, our universe–our life.

But God did as he does and called her to come back home.

While today we weep, we are the ones who keep.

We keep her memory and life alive.

Because we are what became the rambunctious, creative, analytical, beautiful, famous, and silly Kumley five.

Mom, we love you.

Although we say goodbye today,

we know we will see you again someday.

8 thoughts on “A Tribute to My Mother

  1. Bobbi says:

    Beautiful post

  2. Thank you all so much! My son is now 1–my mom was diagnosed when I was 30 wks along. He is my sun 🙂

  3. Krista says:

    I miss mom so! I love your poem ❤

  4. DDeuke says:

    I’m most positive that your Mom would be happy that you have picked up the “pen” again. She must have smiled as she read your poem. Though it brought tears to the eyes of some, her joy is complete, knowing that in an instant you will see each other again.

  5. cherylfoston says:

    Sorry for your lost and what a lovely poem. It seems your mom was a great person and a loving parent. You were blessed to have her in your life. I also want to congratulate you on your new born. I am sure you will be the best mom you can be, just as your mom was to you. Blessings!

  6. Patty Andersen says:

    Beautifully said, Brittany.

  7. Alex Rich says:

    My thoughts and prayers go out to you at this very sensitive time in your life. Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem.

  8. Melissa says:

    So sorry for your loss. That was a beautiful poem.
    I had no idea you were even pregnant. I know you’ll be a great mom because it sounds like you were raised by someone wonderful.

Leave a Reply

